Back to the 80s

adrian

My latest project is set in the 1980s, 1983 to be exact. Here is a test render of what I've modelled so far. I'm practicing with the Principled BSDF shader which I've never used before with various plastic and paper surfaces, got lots more tweaking and learning to do.

In the final scene (which will be an animated story) there will be loads of Star Wars toys and a BBC Micro and tape recorder plus more Acornsoft games. I still have my Grandad's Beeb which he got as a retirement present (he hardly ever used it but I made very good use out of it lol) and it's still in perfect working order today. Best thing about still having it is I can take as many close up reference pictures as I need so I'm hoping to model it perfectly. We also had a Teletext adaptor but sadly that seems to have gone missing.

I'm not sure BBC Micros were known outside of the UK, or Acornsoft/Superior Software etc for that matter and if that's the case the items in the test scene might not mean much to most people.

I will post back in this thread as and when I model something new.

Attachments

• TestRender-2.jpg
    TestRender-2.jpg
    469.6 KB · Views: 282
Looks pretty good, though I was 18 years old at that time, I don´t recognize the labels of the items, I haven´t come across that over here in Sweden.
As for the render, the items seem to have too little contact shadow agains the floor so to speak, not sure how much additional light´s or GI you are using, that could sort of bleech that stuff out, perhaps a tiny bit more reflectance on some surfaces and edges would punch it a bit more.

Covers of Hunchback and Gorilla were the most likely in additional transparent plastic cover: make 0.1mm-1mm thick plane, divide enough, and add turbulence in displacement to have it slightly randomly curved (or use bump map), and in surface settings make it transparent, with RI != 1 and set specularity.