stereoscopic view

girasole

Hi,
I'm new with this software...
I want to know if is it possible to create a stereoscopic view with this software.
I find this function in Strata 3D and I want to know if LightWave 3D has the same function.

:D :confused: Do you mean does it do stereoscopic rendering or do you mean something else. Lightwave very easily does stereoscopic rendering.

Select a camera
hit the 'p' key for object properties
Click on the stereo and DOF tab
Enable stereoscopic rendering
leave the 60mm separation setting for now. You can play with that later.
Any thing you render with that camera will now render twice, once for the left eye and once for the right.

Don't you also need to add the 'Anaglyph Stereo: Compose' Image Filter too to merge the two images together into a full stereoscopic image?

(Doh, why did this thread come up in my New Posts? Just realised it's ancient!)

hehe, I've accidentally revived a some dead threads before.

Anyway, There is more than one way to display stereoscopic renders and the 'compose anaglyph' filter overwrites every other image (I don't remember if it's the left or the right image) so it's probably best to figure out another way to combine the images in post.

It's fun to play with, though. :)

Thanks for the link, I am sure I had outputted direct from LW a long time ago, maybe version 6.5, probably just imagining it but I seem to remember playing about with it??

As Dana mentioned above (read replies) you can output directly from LW a merged image that allows to watch the anaglyph stereo but it´s just meant for preview purposes as for the real thing you do need two images.
A lot of stereo workflow is appearing in Fusion and Nuke recently and things are getting increasingly easier.

lightwave can also gather the two images by itself witn no problems
hoever theres differnt ways to controle your depth in the z
so you might do some tests.

i myself did quite some stereo images in lightwave