Saving Poses in Layout

pandorian

I'm a bit new to Lightwave Layout, is there a simple or easy way to save poses for my character for later use? Im running LW 2020 on a Mac running High Sierra

Last edited:
There are a few paid and free plugins here: https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/contains/pose/

There are some more new plugins that may be useful here (not yet entered in the LW plugin database above):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z05WHr2-Gos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0ctl-9AfSo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WblTVsR7SMs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox_7LGjLpcA

Some of these topics include saving motions but you can also consider a 1 frame motion as a pose.

The simplest way to save poses, if you are content with saving the entire figure and choose not to use any of the tools above, is to create keys at negative frame values. You could save a seated character pose at frame -100. Then when you need the character to sit at frame 47, you slide the timeline to -100, make sure the character is selected, hit enter to create the key, and enter 47 as the frame. The pose at -100 is copied/saved to frame 47.

What I wanted to do was be able to access and use these saved poses for use whenever I load the character into Layout to create a new scene.

What I wanted to do was be able to access and use these saved poses for use whenever I load the character into Layout to create a new scene.

So what you really want is a kind of "pose library" you can keep with the character, for reuse in new scenes where you reuse the character?

There are various plugins to help with that, as mentioned. Native, you either need to use the "negative frames as library" approach, or dig into IKBooster save/load pose ability.

I've been using the Animation Toolbox that comes with RHiggit2. I thought RH had released those separately & for free, but can't find them. Maybe some else can recall.