World Machine to Lightwave3D works quite well

scallahan1

Still...Absolute Amateur
Hi Folks,

I've followed a few threads talking about World Machine for generating maps to use in Lightwave3D and I just had to download it. After checking out the trial version and not being happy with 1025x1025 maps, I threw down for the Indie (Standard) version for $119 US. Since I'm only an amateur I do not believe I'll hit any walls concerning the limitations. I just used the default terrain and set the resolution to 8192x8192 and waited patiently for the build. Brought them in and did the usual displaced mesh routine. I used 2015 for this one because I'm more used to displacing mesh in it. It appears to be a great tool to use with Lightwave. I know there's plenty of other terrain generators out there as you folks mentioned all of them in other threads. I had to pick one, though. :)

I made a quick low-res 960x540 10 second animation to see the results. Quite enjoyable so far.

World Machine to Lightwave3D

Steve

prometheus

REBORN
seems to be looking good...but I
am Looking at it on my phone and in bed..I will check tomorrow on a big monitor.

iv'e been messing with worldmachine too..but gaea is more fun and much faster to apply erosions and builds with.

I haven't checked the comparative pricing though.

prometheus

REBORN
Looked at it on the bigger monitor, still looking good.

2015 though, and you should perhaps try a slightly softer sampled light, dp sunlight perhaps? right now the shadows seems to be at 0 angle, the only size you can get from the standard distant light.

And why not try add cloud shadows by using a flat poly or a huge dome that is 100% transparent except for where you add a fractal texture in the transparency channel, it will give the scenery more dramatic looks, unless pure clear sky that is.