Voronoi Images with procedurals

Philbert

Sub-Dude
I came across this image, basically a photo made into a voronoi pattern.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Art/comments/5xgeqr
And I thought "I bet I could do that with LightWave procedurals". I'm no expert with the node editor. The best I could come up with is running the photo through Scalar Multiply, then into Scale on Procedural Veins. It's not quite right. Any ideas?

prometheus

REBORN
Tough one nodally in lightwave I think, could work, will have to check tomorrow, with just procedurals.

But simpler would be to find a filter in a photo editing software to do it in, this below isn´t quite the same really, haven´t checked all filters or what´s out there not installed yet on my GMIc krita filter.

another idea would be to use the image to remesh something with point density or vertex density based on a map converted to vertex map or something, to get higher resolution in denser black areas then triple it all in the end mesh, then render out edges only from that, but too much work I suppose.

krita filter.jpg

Philbert

Sub-Dude
Yeah I've been searching all over in photo editors or Photoshop. I first thought of this months ago and never got to try it until now. I don't know much about krita but I'll look into it. I was also thinking it looks a lot like decimating a mesh and I can manually paint decimation on 3D-Coat but that takes too long. I'll keep looking into photo editors. Thanks.

prometheus

REBORN
Might be doable in inkscape as well, it has extension, generate from path, voronoi diagram or pattern, you would have to trace the bitmap in inkscape to become paths first, then run that extension, it will generat the voronois based on the colors extracted from that, I did a crude test but so so.

Philbert

Sub-Dude