Student begs for 3D web help!

diablo1000000

Hi People!

I'm a student in Multimedia, and for one of my final year projects I want to get some of the simple lightwave scenes I have created into shockwave, and onto the web.

You see, I want to create a 3D interactive environment with simple shapes, so that someone can navigate through a webpage without boring text/.jpgs all over the place.

I know lightwave in-and-out, and pretty good at using Dreamweaver for web... but have NO IDEA on how I do the in-between bit with Shockwave stuff.

Could anyone recommend any tutorials/books/both for me! I'm seriously desperate for info!

Thanks!

T x

diablo1000000

Dunno about Swift...

I've seen Swift before, and while it's brilliant at getting 3D into flat Flash animation, it doesn't really allow the user to grab an item, spin it around and look at it from another view.

With Shockwave I could set it up so the user could spin around the object at their own pace, click an area and that in turn could take them to another object, or do something special.

Any ideas?!

bakasaru

My bad.:rolleyes: I get Flash and Shockwave confused sometimes. Have you tried the Shockwave3D exporter in Layout. I believe its on the Scene tab, maybe under Generic utilities? Let me know what you find.

diablo1000000

Shockwave3D exporter?...

No worries on last reply; always appreciate any advice! :cool:

I've gone all around Lightwave, and can't find a Shockwave3D exporter. Although I'm using Lightwave 6.0, so that might be something that newer versions have that I don't?

My tutors @ uni don't seem to be any help; they're all 3dMax and 3DMax-Swift3D fans and I'm the lonely Lightwave user! :eek:

T x

Sam_Horton

Depending on what version of lightwave you have installed you will find the exporter in 1 of 2 places. 7.5 has it right in the file->export menu, and you will find it under layout->plugins->generic plug-ins in the older versions.