Slider to control Lightwave animation in shockwave

zardoz

Hi everyone,

I need help in this...is there a way to have a slider to control an animation exported by LW to Director?

I'm not a programer...I've been doing some things in Director with the help of a friend but he doesn't have the time to help me always so I've been 'fishing' bits of code all over the web...so what I have is a play/pause button on my animation and I made it loop...:hey:

What I would like to have was the same play/pause button and a slider bar to move thru the time of my animation...like the one we have in Layout...

tx

MentalFish

LScript minion
All animated objects that are exported by LW has an animation "property" applied to them, and that can either be keyFramesPlayer or bonesPlayer (as you propably have seen when scripting the play/pause function). If you want to set the timeline of an animation by a slider you will have to use this bit of code:

Code:
member("w3d").model("box").keyFramePlayer.currentTime = sprite(2).loch

But that does not take into account the actual end time of the animation and that would take this bit of code:
Code:
totalFrames = 60
framesPrSecond = 30
sliderLength = 618
animLength = (totalFrames/framesPrSecond)*1000.0
member("w3d").model("box").keyFramePlayer.currentTime = (sprite(2).loch / sliderLength) * animLength

I have attached an example file you can look at. And remember if you want to control the playback of a model with bones you have to use the bonesPlayer instead of keyFramePlayer.

zardoz

tx for answering petter

but...I have dozens of objects...it's an assembly of lots of stuff, and I have the full animation in lightwave. When I export it to .w3d and import it in director it just plays in a loop. so that's why I have the play/stop button. I was looking for some slidebar to control all the animation...imagine the animation has 100 frames in LW....in director I would have a slidebar to go from frame 1 to 100.