Shockwave walk-by with collisions?

zardoz

Hi everyone,

I've been using shockwave for sometime now, but unfortunely I'm not a programmer...I am one of those that 'fishes' code all over the web...so I want to leave here some questions about this...

How hard it is to using a simple model of a house, for example (a few rooms, a hall, etc, with open doors) and using the arrow keys, 'walk' inside that house? with collisions?

Petter Sundnes (petterms here at the forums) who has helped me a lot in the past (tx petter) has something like this on his website...in his example you can walk thru the inner doors but can't thru the outside walls...

How much code does this has? Is there a way to tell shockwave that we have a collision in every polygon?

Having a way to create this would be great for me.

Tx in advance for all the help.

Sam_Horton

Shockwave 3D and Havok Physics demo

I made a demo using the havok physics engine and Director to get some really detailed collision detection. Havok simply converts your existing geometry into collision objects, and gives you control over how complex the collision representation is (convex, concave, spherical, bounding box).

Some people complain that havok is too much, but I have had good luck with it so far.

Here's a link to the zip file w/ all the assets ready to go.
http://shorton.phpwebhosting.com/files/w3dHavokDemo.zip

Read the readme file first and determine if you need to put the 2 plugins in the director xtras folder (it will not work w/ out them).

Good luck, and let me know if this helps out.

zardoz

hi sam,

once again thanks a lot for your help...but as I said I'm not a programmer :help:
so I've been editing your code for my scene (just a test one) and when I press play the camera goes crazy and I can't understand how to fix this...

I have the file here...if you could look at it and teach me where is the problem...

I also send the .lwo, and the simple .lws

thanks for your help

Sam_Horton