LW2Backburner Script, Backburner repeating frames. All caused by Nodal Motion

lardbros

Not so newbie member
Hey there,

I've spent the entire day figuring this one out, so thought, for the benefit of others, I'd post it here.

Using LW 11.6.1 on my renderfarm is pretty stable most of the time, but we've been encountering errors recently, with one specific scene.
I had an object with Nodal Motion applied, and it was using the raycast node to follow a surface. I've never tried rendering this on our farm before, but it seemed to cause this specific issue:

Frames would render, but as soon as the node had finished it's frames (5 of them) it would then error, and then start rendering the same 5 frames again. All of the nodes would do this same thing, continuously erroring (with a nonsense message) and then start at their first frame again.

I tried everything to fix it that I could think of. Baked all motions into .mdd's etc etc. I had baked the motion into this object, but forgotten to disable/delete the original nodal motion on it. Once I'd done this, everything renders fine.

Very strange, and I'm not sure if this has been sorted in later versions of LW, but something to watch out for! Had me stumped for hours!

It would be cool if there is anyone else out there using the LW2Backburner script, to test this out on their machines! Let me know how it goes :D

Cheers,
Tim

Last edited:

ernpchan

...but forgotten to disable/delete the original nodal motion on it. Once I'd done this, everything renders fine.

Very strange, and I'm not sure if this has been sorted in later versions of LW, but something to watch out for! Had me stumped for hours!

Do you have a dummy scene to try? It'd be interesting to see if this problem happens on a farm controlled by Rush. Then we could see if it's just a general LWSN problem.

lardbros

Not so newbie member