Butterfly Net Render 5

CROUTON213

Anyone else think the new BNR 5 is less good than BNR 4.57? I have been using BNR for many years and loving it, but now it is not so much love.

CROUTON213

First of all, I think BNR is awesome and I definitely recommend it. The BNR ScreamerNET setup wizard is completely easy. It functions very well, however now in the new web browser interface of BNR 5 each time I start it, the interface comes up in its default size even though I have already set it up the way I like it. It gives you preferences you can set, but they don’t seem to get saved. Then, I can no longer load multiple scenes into the queue at once, I have to load one at a time, then select OKAY to get it into the queue. Once all my scenes are individually loaded, I then have to start them one at a time.
Also, I have set all the nodes to display the CLI shell pop up because I like to easily look at the screens and see that the machines in our studio are rendering. For some reason it does not display the CLI anymore like it used to. There’s a few other things I can’t remember right now and this may sound nitpicky, but in BNR4.57 you could load in a handful of scenes and then start the queue all at once and the machines would pop up the CLI and I knew they were working. I am not trying to put down BNR 5 it just seems a little more tedious than BNR 4.57. Like I said, I would definitely recommend BNR 5 as I am successfully using it with Lightwave 11.6.1 …

CROUTON213

I guess it would be nice if Lightwave 3D had its own built in render controller. Local network rendering is the functionality that makes Lightwave most valuable to me at this time. Is it really that hard to make it so my 8, 9 or 15 node mini renderfarm can render my Lightwave scene files from within Lightwave?

CROUTON213