Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Geometry-transparency

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    san Diego
    Posts
    254

    Geometry-transparency

    I'm trying to create a model using a Background image. Is it possible to control the opacity of the geometry so I can see/model the Background image?

  2. #2
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Could you explain a bit more? Do you just want to see the background image through the foreground object? In that case, you could set the object dissolve (under render tab in object properties) for the object.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    san Diego
    Posts
    254
    I want to model an extruded box into the background image. Problem is when you draw the box it hides the background image.

    I will try object dissolve.

  4. #4
    Registered User CGI Addict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    483
    Hey pdp, just apply a surface name to the polys and go into surface settings and give as much tranparency (%) as you want. Just make sure Transparency checked in the GL Tab in the Display Settings window.
    Michael Borjon
    www.pixelcollab.com

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    san Diego
    Posts
    254
    Wow that easy uh; I will give this at try this evening,

    thank you.

  6. #6
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    Quote Originally Posted by CGI Addict View Post
    Just make sure Transparency checked in the GL Tab in the Display Settings window.
    Haha....I was just wondering why transparency wasn't working anymore

    Kuzey

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic danielkaiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Riverside CA
    Posts
    1,056
    Quote Originally Posted by pdp editor View Post
    I'm trying to create a model using a Background image. Is it possible to control the opacity of the geometry so I can see/model the Background image?
    You could just set your view to wireframe.
    Daniel Kaiser

    "A mistake is always forgivable, rarely excusable and never acceptable." Robert Fripp

    AMD Phenom II x6 3.2
    Win 7 Pro x64
    8gig Ram
    Nvidia 640 GT 2Gb
    LW 11 x64

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    san Diego
    Posts
    254
    Wireframe; I never thought of that thanks again; both methods work well. This just goes to show the true value of this forum.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •