Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Change objects surface while animating

Newbie Member

Change objects surface while animating

Hello everybody,

i am new to the whole LW thing... So I hope i may get some answers here ...

I am applying a surface to an object. Now i want to change the surface "on the fly" while doing an animation. Is this possible? Or do i have to take one take with the one surface and one take with the other surface and blend those takes together in something like adobe premiere or so?

background is, that i wanna switch from one surface which show the wireframe outline only to a full textured object.

Thanks in advance for any helpful reply

You can do it on the fly in LW for the most part.

In any of the channels like, Color, Transparency, Bump, etc. First add your layers of your first texture. Then add the layers of your second texture under them. Then as you want to transition between the textures, just animate the opacity of the top texture. You do this by clicking the 'E' for envelope, next to the opacity, when you have the target texture selected.

When you hit E the graph editor will pop up. Put a key at 100% to see it, then a key at 0% on the frame you want it completely gone showing

Doing the transition in post might make life easier, especially in a program like After Effects. It may be difficult/annoying in Premier.

Let me know if you have any questions and I can elaborate more.

Newbie Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 4dartist View Post
    You can do it on the fly in LW for the most part.

In any of the channels like, Color, Transparency, Bump, etc. First add your layers of your first texture. Then add the layers of your second texture under them. Then as you want to transition between the textures, just animate the opacity of the top texture. You do this by clicking the 'E' for envelope, next to the opacity, when you have the target texture selected.