Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Avi Wrapper Problem With Tmpgenc

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    39

    Avi Wrapper Problem With Tmpgenc

    I cannot get my wrapped projects into TMPGENC for conversion to MPEG2.

    Here's the steps I followed.......in TEd, I went to FILE and SAVE AS........typed in a file name and selected .AVI as the file type

    There is a filename there and it's an avi file, but when I load it into TMPGENC, it says P3 error .dll

    I can reload my conversion settings and this still doesn't help.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks,
    Chad

  2. #2
    For TMPGEnc, you don't need to use the avi-wrapper, VT[3] installs a plug-in that allows TMPGEnc to see a VT3 project file.

    In other words, save your project as a VT3 project and import that into TMPGEnc. It should work.
    Between the eyes and ears there lie the sounds of color and the light of a sigh.

  3. #3
    Just Tryin' To Help...
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Quincy, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,066
    Just have to make sure you select the "Install Third-Party Plugins" option when installing VT[3] or from Start > Programs > VT[3] > Utilities if after the install.
    SB Enterprises, Quincy, Illinois ~ in the backwoods of the US of A

  4. #4
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    39
    So I don't even need to save the project as an AVI Wrapper.....just save it as usual as T3 project?

    Sounds good. Thanks a lot!!!!
    Chad

  5. #5
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    39
    I tried it and it still doesn't work.

    I saved my project under SAVE AS and the name is COMPLETED and the type was VT[3] Project

    I loaded TMPGENC and selected video source BROWSE and found the file and selected the Newtek VT[3] Plug In from the type of file window.

    The computer starts to load it and says FILE CANNOT OPEN OR UNSUPPORTED.

    I used the 3rd Party installer and see a file in the TMPGENC directory called video toaster, so I know the plug in is there.

    Any ideas or did I miss something?

    Thanks,
    Chad

  6. #6
    NT Staff - TriCaster Guy
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    14
    Are yo uable to load regular avi files?

    If you toaster edit project has subprojects TMPGEnc might have problems seeing the file, we are working on a fix. Other than that it should work.

    What version are you using?
    jerm
    TriCaster Entomologist

  7. #7
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    39
    TMPGENC Version 2.57.41.146

    BTW, will it read in my wav files and tga graphics and covert those as well?

    Thanks,
    Chad

  8. #8
    edmellnik
    Guest

    TMPGE problem

    I have had problems if I dont close t3 before getting into TMPGE.

    My problem is I am getting little squares in my completed rendered mpeg. SOmething is corrupting.
    It seems to occure on the stills in the project but even if I
    render the stills as an RTV it still occurs.
    SOmething is corrupting. And before I put t3 on it was working
    perfectly.
    ed

  9. #9
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    You really shouldn't leave VT[3] open when using TMPGEnc.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  10. #10
    edmellnik
    Guest

    Tmpge

    My problem was happening even when t3 was closed.

    What I think I hve found is that maybe the mpeg files are ok but wmp is not liking the files on that machine.
    If I play the files just rendered on another machine I dont get
    little corrupted squares. But I never had this problem until I put T3 on. Does anyone know if T3 put its own Mpeg codec on???

    ed

  11. #11
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830

    Re: Tmpge

    Originally posted by edmellnik
    Does anyone know if T3 put its own Mpeg codec on???
    It does not.
    Have you upgraded to DirectX 9.0 ?
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  12. #12
    edmellnik
    Guest

    direct x 9.0

    I do not know what version is there.
    Should I be on 9.0????

  13. #13
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    DirectX 9.0b is the current version, and recommended for all.

    If you haven't updated your DirectX in more than a few months, you don't have it.

    Get it from Microsoft's site.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  14. #14

    avi meta data files (save as avi)

    The save as avi function with tempeg.
    1 does not recognize the embeded audio.
    2 when used with a rendered out audio file from the project audi is not in sync
    3 when project video and audio is rendered out all is in sync.

    Number three is the best way at the moment to do mpeg encoding. this was after a full day of tests with a project length of 1 hr 30 min.

    Yes direct x 9 and the new media player is a must to install.

    Pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  15. #15
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    39

    Here is yet another TMPGENC weird problem

    Some of the newer toaster effects of Faraz site are of the FILE type and not the TOASTER EFFECT file type. They play perfectly in the toaster (Such as the animations, flash while, spinning blocks, etc) but will not convert in TMPGENC.

    I know that the file type is different. Is there any way to change it? I tried the old rename extention trick, but it didn't work....so I assume there is some kind of conversion that needs to be done.

    Thanks,
    Chad

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •