Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VT[5] Audio Sources

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1

    VT[5] Audio Sources

    Is there a way I can set a program as an audio source inside of VT[5]. For example, if i wanted to use audio being played through Internet Explorer.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    VT5 USER Rich Deustachio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Posts
    1,371
    When VT used to have the card as the audio device you could play something in Windows media Player and it would show up on the mixer but they changed it so the VT board doesn't work that way anymore.
    Dynamic Video Productions
    Mount Laurel NJ

  3. #3
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,608
    You can install the Windows audio driver from the VT[5] setup disc it's found in the extras folder.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nederland, TX
    Posts
    38
    another way to do it is to hook a 1/8" to stereo rca wire from the audio output of your soundcard into one of the audio input sources on your breakout box. this is how we have ours setup, more reliable than using the driver.

  5. #5
    VT5 USER Rich Deustachio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Posts
    1,371
    I like that idea! Nice and simple.
    Dynamic Video Productions
    Mount Laurel NJ

  6. #6

    computer noise

    I setup all systems to mixers using a simple ground-loop isolator to remove ALL computer hash and hum.
    From markertec 10k to 10k, brand is Jenson.

    Pete
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete Draves View Post
    I setup all systems to mixers using a simple ground-loop isolator to remove ALL computer hash and hum.
    From markertec 10k to 10k, brand is Jenson.

    Pete
    Anyone care to help us understand Pete's "10k to 10k" description? I want to believe he's indicating something about the impedance of the ground-loop isolator device.

    Pete, if you're "listening", I'm about to go through the Markertek catalogue we've got here, to find the specific model number of that unit -- unless you've got it handy.
    Last edited by Quiet1onTheSet; 04-25-2009 at 08:36 AM.

  8. #8

    isolation

    the iso is used direct to the vt audio in and out. this filters all of the computer noise and hash.
    You bypass the BOB as it is the noisiest thing in the system.
    I have had numerous conversations with the powers that be at NewTek. but there is no relief

    Here is the Markertek link.

    http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp...&search=0&off=

    I use one for in and one for out. Total clean sound for making master tapes and DVDs.

    10k is the impedance. the level is -10.

    Pete
    Last edited by Pete Draves; 04-25-2009 at 10:14 AM.
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete Draves View Post
    the iso is used direct to the vt audio in and out. this filters all of the computer noise and hash.
    You bypass the BOB as it is the noisiest thing in the system.

    I use one for in and one for out. Total clean sound for making master tapes and DVDs.

    10k is the impedance. the level is -10.

    Pete
    Thanks for that informed reply, there, Pete.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •