Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: New dongle required for Core!

  1. #1
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585

    New dongle required for Core!

    Well, it took a while but I got an answer from Newtek Europe.

    I need to move away from my ancient dongle to a USB one, not least as my current new shiny PC has no serial port. But it occured to me that there might be complications. In particular we have read that Core will play nicely with Linux, and also we know the a big barrier to getting the current Lightwave onto Linux (Under WINE) is that the dongle doesn't work under Linux.

    So I sent an email too Newtek Europe asking if Core might require a new dongle to work under Linux. And got the response "There is no exact information at this time - but it appears a new dongle will be necessary"

    So it's not only a case of paying 75 Euros just for the copy protection update, but it looks like I may have to do the same thing again in the near future.

    Now I notice the warnings about it not being certain yet, but I'd really hope that this is not as described. Or that the second updated dongle would be provided free of charge to anyone who upgraded in (say) the year before it came out.

    I accept the need for Netek to use systems like this, and find a dongle a much better method than the painful activation used by the likes of Vue. But this does seem a bit much to swallow.

    Nick
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  2. #2
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    I wouldn't sweat it too much yet, don't get in a panic until we hear something official.

    You said your computer doesn't even have a serial (I assume you meant parallel) port, so why would it matter to you? You must be using the USB dongle anyway, if that's the case.

    I switched to USB several years ago because I knew the parallel port is a dinosaur.

  3. #3
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    He's got a new PC and therefore old dongle won't work

    I would have thought they would only need to have a new Linux driver for the usb dongle to work?

    Kuzey

  4. #4
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    He's got a new PC and therefore old dongle won't work
    So the problem has absolutely nothing to do with what CORE will or will not use. At least for him.

  5. #5
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    Quote Originally Posted by mattclary View Post
    So the problem has absolutely nothing to do with what CORE will or will not use. At least for him.
    Actually, I think it does.

    He doesn't want to upgrade to the usb dongle now and then find he'll have to upgrade again in the near future...if he want's to use the Linux version of the Core.

    Kuzey

  6. #6
    Cultural Engineer Liber777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Most Chosen City on Earth
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    He's got a new PC and therefore old dongle won't work

    I would have thought they would only need to have a new Linux driver for the usb dongle to work?

    Kuzey
    A Linux driver will do the trick for a native app. The problem has been with running dongled apps under WINE emulation.
    << Nothing is true, everything is permitted >>

    DaVinci Resolve, Fusion, Generation, LightWave, ChronoSculpt, NevronMotion, REDcine-X Pro,
    Nuendo, messiahStudio Pro 5, VT[4] v4.6, SpeedEDIT 2...

  7. #7
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    Actually, I think it does.

    He doesn't want to upgrade to the usb dongle now and then find he'll have to upgrade again in the near future...if he want's to use the Linux version of the Core.

    Kuzey
    A current USB dongle will work with CORE, if CORE uses a dongle. Take that to the bank and cash it.

    Any limitation of not running LW on Linux has nothing to do with the dongle support for Linux. Go look at the drivers available at Safenet's site.

  8. #8
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,884
    Quote Originally Posted by starbase1 View Post
    I need to move away from my ancient dongle to a USB one, not least as my current new shiny PC has no serial port.
    There are USB-RS232 serial port adapters available,
    Here is one for 13 usd http://www.usbgear.com/USB-Serial.html
    and USB-parallel port adapters for 18 usd
    http://shopper.cnet.com/networking/p...9-4778227.html
    Last edited by Sensei; 03-06-2009 at 08:15 AM.

  9. #9
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    Actually, I think it does.

    He doesn't want to upgrade to the usb dongle now and then find he'll have to upgrade again in the near future...if he want's to use the Linux version of the Core.

    Kuzey
    Spot on!
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  10. #10
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    Quote Originally Posted by Liber777 View Post
    A Linux driver will do the trick for a native app. The problem has been with running dongled apps under WINE emulation.
    Ahh..thanks that makes sense

    I guess somethings up with the answer Newtek Europe gave him.

    Kuzey

  11. #11
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Quote Originally Posted by mattclary View Post
    A current USB dongle will work with CORE, if CORE uses a dongle. Take that to the bank and cash it.
    This is the opposite of what I was told by Newtek Europe. At least for the Linux compatability.

    Should I beleive them or you?
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  12. #12
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    Quote Originally Posted by starbase1 View Post
    This is the opposite of what I was told by Newtek Europe. At least for the Linux compatability.

    Should I beleive them or you?
    Me.

    Save the post, I'll eat my words if I am wrong.



    edit:
    Here is the Windows driver that we use, and the corresponding Linux driver.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	218 
Size:	133.3 KB 
ID:	70692  
    Last edited by mattclary; 03-06-2009 at 08:52 AM.

  13. #13
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    Quote Originally Posted by Pagnozzi View Post
    ... I have multiple dongles, and Newtek didnt asked me on which I want buy the update to core! Maybe there is no Hardware-Dongle in the future ?!

    That is a unique possibility. I am betting we will still use the dongle, but this is admittedly up in the air.

  14. #14
    Michael Nicholson zapper1998's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    spokane washington usa
    Posts
    4,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oh Man you have to give up the Par Dongle....

    Boy that lived a good life....

    Ya think they would let ya keep it, so you could mount the bugger in a nice frame, and put her up on the wall above your monitors..

    darn...



    -Michael

  15. #15
    i believe [but can't prove] that core beta will use the lightwave dongle but either during the beta or at final release stage Lightwave Core will move over to a new independant copy protection system...exactly 'what' we don't know yet...could be software lock like speed edit as or something similar to 3dsmax/xsi/houdini/modo.
    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •