Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pip

Pip

Was wondering if if it was possible, and if so, how to do a PIP for a clock on a scoreboard. What are the limitations Switching, etc. when doing so?

Anyone with any suggestions? That's been the biggest thing that I've had requested on our football broadcasts, is to have a clock on the screen at all times.

Thanks in advance.

Brad

You should be able to do so with a TC 2.0 and TC Studio. I'm no expert with TriCaster, but we do this with LiveSets on our VT5.

We just cropped out a little rectangle and made that a LiveSet on all of our camera inputs. The clock camera runs into the Effects bus of the switcher.

Here is a sample video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLwiiOMKHOU

But remember that if you did this, the clock camera would use one of your inputs on the Tricaster.

Also, you will probably need to preview the camera before you take it so that it can time-sync it so you won't have a glitch on program.

Brian

Thanks Brian, and Brad for asking. I never had the need, so never thought about it...until we were asked about this very thing today.
    Nice to see others who have been there, done that.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

Just fyi - in an earlier thread about shooting a game clock in this manner, someone pointed out the problem of the camera being bumped at times. The post linked below might interest those who have Aura or Mirage, as it contains a link to a tool I wrote that will create a brand new 'frame my game clock' LiveSet in about 10 seconds flat. (It has other PiP uses and features too, including optional shadows, soft edges, transparency, borders, etc...)

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=666072
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")