Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Parenting

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Irving, Tx.
    Posts
    562

    Parenting

    In modeler, is it possible to select multiple layers and parent them to another layer? I've gone through the modeler manual and found no references to this. I've also tried selecting multiple layers and then opening the Layers Settings panel to use the parenting feature there with no success. Thanks for any advice.

    Richard

  2. #2
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    Put it in the feature requests! good idea!

  3. #3
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    I believe you can do that in the scene editor

  4. #4
    Yes quite simple

    Open the layers panel. Double click on your intented child layer, and you will see a drop down menu to allow you to select the parent. (and a box to name them too)

    Also if you look at the little down arrow on the layers window panel, right next to the eye like icon, you can select that, and change the mode to hierarchy to see it working. You can drag child layers onto a parent in this mode, for fast parenting, like in layout.

    If you import such models into layout they should be correctly parented, as the modeler model, however if you do so AFTER you have imported them, it doesn't change, so you'll have to do it manually or reimport them, into layout.

  5. #5
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    In modeler you don't have a scene editor.

    In modeler you need to parent them one by one.....that's the problem


    read people read!
    Last edited by 3DGFXStudios; 10-04-2008 at 08:03 AM.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Irving, Tx.
    Posts
    562
    Thanks Guys, I didn't know about the hierarchy list. That does make things go a little faster. Is there a way to select and parent more than one layer at a time? I've tried moving multiple layers in the hierarchy list and that doesn't seem to be an option. I have a medium resolution mesh (commercial model) that has about 99 layers that have to be parented to either a null or the main body of the model. I don't mind work but a little less work will allow more creativity. Thanks for the quick replies btw.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    Its because of what Tobian said that I find it easier just to do the parenting in layout...less headaches.
    Its also the same problem when adjusting pivot points in modeler.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Irving, Tx.
    Posts
    562
    Hi Space Monk,

    That answered my post. Now, just waiting for the feature to be available.

    Richard

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Irving, Tx.
    Posts
    562
    It's a shame you can't do the parenting in Layout then export a new .lwo to save the parenting. Although, it would be easier from the start to be able to do that kind of parenting in modeler. Does anyone know if this was addressed in 9.5?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •