Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: DPKit Particle Info

  1. #1
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911

    DPKit Particle Info

    Hi Dennis I was looking for some info on the Particle Info node but there is none available on your sight.

    I was trying to get a clone to use a specific particles attributes to see if there was a way to do a crowd sim as discussed in this thread

    I noticed on your site that you show an ObjectID node but I can`t find it in the DPKit, should I be looking elsewhere?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  2. #2
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,131
    ObjectID node
    This is one of James Willmot's I believe, but I don't know where its hosted anymore. He also created a time node which I was searching for, but that's gone too
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  3. #3
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    lucky you, I have the time node you mentioned but not the ObjectID node, you think its OK to post it?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  4. #4
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,131
    mmm...and I may have the object ID node. I'll PM the author and get permission.
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  5. #5
    Traitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    453
    http://www.symmetrix3d.com/index2.php?page=plugins.php

    You'll find the ObjectID node there.

    M

  6. #6
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    Thanks,

    @stevecullum - is there a difference between the native time node, DPKits time node and JamesWillmots?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,922
    There's no Time node in DP Kit,
    but a few nodes with a time scalar input,
    for time output, I currently use a Constant node
    with a very simple envelope and 2 keys,
    key1: t = 0.0 -> value 0.0
    key2: t = 1.0 -> value 1.0
    and End Behavior set to Offset Repeat,
    then it can be scaled for speed,
    or you can add an offset.

    Denis.

  8. #8
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,131
    @stevecullum - is there a difference between the native time node, DPKits time node and JamesWillmots?
    I didn't think there was a native one either!
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  9. #9
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    don`t know what I`ve been drinking but I better stop, your both right, no dpkit one and no native one.

    did you get word if its ok to post.

    As a scripter myself I know I wouldn`t care if someone posted a script of mine that I had posted into the public domain.

    and there was no readme with the time node forbidding reposting so here you go

    JamesWillmotts time node
    Attached Files Attached Files
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  10. #10
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    Denis do you think this is possible,

    item info node with a "Clone ID" output, outputs the integer x if self has a (x) in the name or -1 if it doesn`t

    and an ID input to the particle info node so you can get a specific particles attributes?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,922
    Quote Originally Posted by LightFreeze View Post
    ...item info node with a "Clone ID" output, outputs the integer x if self has a (x) in the name or -1 if it doesn`t...
    Sure it is possible, but too much specific, I would not code it
    for general use, but I know there are request for scriptable
    nodes.


    ...an ID input to the particle info node so you can get a specific particles attributes?
    Convert the emitter as a Partigon object,
    and use Point Info node instead, you can select
    the point index, then cloning the object will offset
    the point index.

    Denis.

  12. #12
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    thanks Denis, I`ll try that instead
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  13. #13
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    Sorry Denis, I`m not getting this, I can get clones to track the positions of the partigon points using the point info but I can`t index into the particle info stuff like age, force etc, could you post a node tree maybe?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  14. #14
    Super Member LightFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    911
    I noticed you posted this in another thread,

    Particle Info node could not be used to "FXLink"
    an object to a particle, since it ouput the ID
    of the nearest particle instead of a constant
    given ID/index.
    I think I get it now, particle info is for surfacing, you cant use it for motion, is that right?
    VueScripts.com
    __________________
    win32
    core2duo E6500
    GTX 260

  15. #15
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,131
    did you get word if its ok to post.
    Yes - he's fine with it. Thanks for the Time node
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •