Thread: Trees blowing in the wind

Trees blowing in the wind

I am trying to create trees that blow in the wind. I know how to do it with endomorphs and textured displacements, but I was wondering about the wind emitter. I have never used it before. Can it blow trees around? If anyone can tell me of any tutorials about the wind emitter, I would appreshiate it.

Evil Bastard Incorporated
    Quote Originally Posted by skywalker113 View Post
    I was wondering about the wind emitter. I have never used it before. Can it blow trees around? If anyone can tell me of any tutorials about the wind emitter, I would appreshiate it.
    No, unfortunately. You see your model tree is just that... a static model with no flexibility built in. The wind emitter is a dynamic object and needs other dynamic objects to interact with, like particles, excellent for creating leaves being blown about or accurate smoke movement, but it won't bend a model around.
    This little chapter in history is over, ended, finito, no more, an ex chapter.

You might try IK Booster with bone dynamics applied. About half way through the video he applies a wind emitter to move the bones. Just turn it upside down and it is a tree

ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movi...neDynamics.mov

Newbie Member

:o)

You can use Cloth and wind dynamics. Here are a link :

http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9309

Thanks for the links