Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: uvtexture how to ?

  1. #1
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113

    uvtexture how to ?

    Hi !

    i'm very newbie with lw 9.3

    i'm trying to understand how apply an image on my model with the uvmap technic. i've read the pdf documentation, but i've some questions.

    - How to export the wireframe uvtexture view to a graphics file. My main goal is to draw inside photoshop the details. Next reload the image inside Lw and apply it to my model. No found this into the doc !

    - How to choose the size of this graphic file (width and height). Are you limited to 1024x1024 pixels ? (i don't want use my model inside a video game, just rendered views).

    Many thanks for your help !

  2. #2
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,033
    Use the Export Encapsulated PostScript function in File > Export. If you are using a subpatched object the lines won't be the curves you see in the UV window.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  3. #3
    Registered User lesterfoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada, AB, Edmonton.
    Posts
    815
    What about LightWave Rendition for Adobe Photoshop. Can't this do that?


    http://www.newtek.com/rendition/#

  4. #4
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113
    Many thanks BeeVee it works.

    i've another question now.

    1) i select the top ship polygons
    2) i create new uvmap : (planar) map>texture>new uvmap
    3) i scale it... ok


    4) next i invert my selection (view>selection>invert)
    5) i add the rest of the ship : (planar) map>texture>make UVs
    but... why some points are connected to the previous uvmap ? i've inverted the selection ! i want two separate parts !



    Thanks for your help !

  5. #5
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,033
    Why not make two separate UV maps or unweld the two halves temporarily while you add them to one UV map (if you need to only have one because of limitations of other tools).

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  6. #6
    Learn to think in terms of the projection modes the uv tools offer you, the engine pods and perhaps the main body would each be best unwrapped separately using a cylindrical mapping mode set to the appropriate axis, the wings to a planar projection. As BeeVee states, any partial uv mapping requires you to unweald the mesh beforehand, this is fine so long as you remember to weald everything back together again when you're done.

  7. #7
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113
    many thanks for your advices.

    Finally i'm trying another thing. Perhaps more simple for me.

    - Is it possible to combine texture uvmap with lw classic surface rendering ? If fact just paste somes parts of an uvmap on the model.

    - in this case, could you use the alpha transparency of the pasted image (.png)


    1) I've selected only some polygons (wings and body).
    2) i've created uvmap.
    3) i've exported the file to .eps. Inside phtoshop i've drawn my logo.
    4) i've loaded the image into the uvtexture view. But this seems not the good way because my logos not appear on the wings. So what's the next step to put them on the model ?



    Many thanks and sorry to be a poor newbie !

  8. #8
    in the Texture editor sett the projection type to 'uv', from the UV Map tab select the name of the map you made and finally from the Image tab select the image that corresponds to the selected uv map.

  9. #9
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113
    Texture editor = surface editor ? How to access to this ?

  10. #10
    Javis Jones: Night Crew geothefaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oregon Territory
    Posts
    4,214
    Hello,

    F5 will bring up your surface editor. Then you must select the surface for the part of the object you are trying to map the image to. The click the "T" for texture next to color, this will bring up another window, you must select the type of projection that you are trying to do, I assume you are doing a UV type, so select that.

    Then you must select a UV map, particularly the one you've made previously. Now select the image you want to load for the UV map.

    This should do it.

  11. #11
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113
    found it. Thanks !

  12. #12
    Member hub73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France, Castelnaudary
    Posts
    113
    Works fine now. Could you combine the picture pasted on the wing, for example with a gold texture bellow ? In this case could you also use image transparency (if my logo is inside a circle and the used texture image a .png file with alpha) ?



  13. #13
    Javis Jones: Night Crew geothefaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oregon Territory
    Posts
    4,214
    Hello again Hub,

    Sorry for the late reply.

    You can combine multiple images, no doubt about it.

    I can't remember if you can use the alpha (Edit: & transparency) from a .png, but I know you can use one from a .psd, so I wouldn't see why you couldn't use one for other files.

    The question is, on my part, as I don't know the answer to this... Can you use the alpha from another layer in the same file? I just normally set it up with another image, which seems to work just fine.

  14. #14
    I should update my Avatar Verlon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,353
    The Texturing a Viper DVD from Kurv Studios has some very useful tips on this.

    Actually both DVDs were very helpful to me. The first one covers some basic UV setup, and the second is more in depth.
    Verlon Smith

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4i3XnbEKBw&feature=plcp - shameless prommotion for my daughter's horror (by 4 year old standards) story.

  15. #15
    Pancakes! IMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    7,124
    Quote Originally Posted by geothefaust

    The question is, on my part, as I don't know the answer to this... Can you use the alpha from another layer in the same file? I just normally set it up with another image, which seems to work just fine.
    Not as far as I know, but instead of loading a different image, you can just use the existing one with is alpha channel, by creating an instance of it in the Image Editor (F6).
    no comment

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •