Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Points to Nulls?

  1. #1
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450

    Points to Nulls?

    Hi,

    Does anyone know how to convert points in Modeler into Nulls in Layout please?

    I know that there is another thread about this, but doesn't really explain how to do this.

    DaveLEWIS
    __________

  2. #2
    Animation Monkey iconoclasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    926
    If there is only one point per layer you can select "replace with null" in layout. Or are you doing something more complicated than that?
    Friends come and go, but enemies accumulate.

  3. #3
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450
    Hi iconoclasty,

    Thank you, but yes I want to have nulls placed at the knuckles of a character's hand all in one layer.

    DaveLEWIS

  4. #4
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,639
    I have a tool called Points2Scene (a Modeler L-script) which saves out selected points to a scenefile as either nulls, objects or lights. Is your character animated by any chance? Because if it is, Points2Scene will not do the trick for you. If you are on LW9.x there are some other tools that lets you constrain any type of object to a point on another object and will follow that point even when animated.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  5. #5
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450
    Hi Cageman,

    Thank you, may work as I only need the points initially as a reference to place the parent for three finger bones in Layout.

    DaveLEWIS

  6. #6
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,639
    Ok... I really hope Anthony Ramirez doesn't mind I post it here to help a fellow LW-user.

    I've successfully used it with both LW9.x and LW8.x.. I had it crash Modeler (LW9.3) once I think, so if it crash on you, give it a second try.
    Last edited by Cageman; 02-13-2009 at 07:36 PM.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  7. #7
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450
    Hi Cageman,

    Hey, I just downloaded it after reading your post and it worked fine in 9.3 on a test object which was just a box. I shall try it next on a hand and see if I can use this in my work flow

    Thankyou for pointing me in the rite direction. I have spent most of the afternoon search for something like this.

    DaveLewis

  8. #8
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450
    Any idea if there is a way to numerically to move the tip of a bone to the position of a Null without breaking the chain of bones?

  9. #9
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,639
    Hey Dave... there are other ways to achive similar things without any 3rd party plugins. You can apply SoftFX (dynamics) to your object, set all operators to None and hit Calculate (just set your timeline to a couple of frames). When finished scanning, you go into EditFX (select the SoftFX dynamics) and click on EditTool. Now, select a point on your mesh and click on the Commands dropdown menu (in the EditFX tab) and select Makepath. This will create a null that has the motionpath of the point. Really handy at times...
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  10. #10
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,639
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveLEWIS
    Any idea if there is a way to numerically to move the tip of a bone to the position of a Null without breaking the chain of bones?
    Yeap... You should use something called Tip Move. I use LW9.3 Studio Production Style menuconfig. With that config, under SetupTab, you should find Tip Move tool.

    Or, much simplier, select the bone and hit Ctrl+T...

    EDIT: When you have positioned your tip as you want it, simply hit Ctrl+T again to deactivate the tool.

    EDIT2: *doh* just realized that that wasn't what you were asking. numericly... I have no clue actually... :/
    Last edited by Cageman; 11-16-2007 at 12:40 PM.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  11. #11
    T.A.F.K.A. daveythegravy DaveLEWIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    450
    Hi Cageman,

    Nice FX Tip, thank you.

    Yes, I use tip move and the SP Style config (Yummy) , sorry:P

    Would be nice to do it numericaly, but you have been a great help, thank you again.

    DaveLEWIS

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •