Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 56

Thread: Vue6 Anitailasing Question

  1. #31
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Quote Originally Posted by wildr3d
    Ok, just to give an example of the render time difference between just Vue and xstream, I simply made a cherry tree object on the default ground plane and loaded the Angel Hair atmosphere:

    Vue - 640x480 final mode - 3'29"

    LWxstream - 640x480 no AA - 6'27"

    Running LW 9.3 32 bit, Dual Xeon 3.60 GHz
    Actually, like with tenek's, my render times are also more or less the same. Are you using 6.5? I used to have a big slowdown in LW vs. Vue, but not after moving to 6.5.

    May be if you post your scene, I can run and confirm.

  2. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    197
    We're using 6.50-04 Build 291733

    Here's the scene

    Thanks for testing
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #33
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    OK, my render times are:

    Vue xStream (640x480 Final): 1' 10"
    LW/Vue xStream (640x480): 1' 5"

    Both LW and xStream are 64 bit on Vista 64 bit; HW is quad core (QX6700).

  4. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by Sekhar
    OK, my render times are:

    Vue xStream (640x480 Final): 1' 10"
    LW/Vue xStream (640x480): 1' 5"

    Both LW and xStream are 64 bit on Vista 64 bit; HW is quad core (QX6700).

    Wow, I guess 64 bit matters. What's the render time of Lightwave with
    AA that matches Vue?

    Thanks

  5. #35
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Here're a bunch of renders, for comparison.
    1. xStream, Final: 1' 11"
    2. LW/xStream, Old AA3 (Photoreal MB with 3 passes): 3' 10"
    3. LW/xStream, AA3: 3' 10"
    4. LW/xStream, AA1, 0.1 Adaptive: 9' 59"
    5. LW/xStream, No AA: 1' 4"
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vue-Final.jpg 
Views:	234 
Size:	220.0 KB 
ID:	50914   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AA-3-PRMB.jpg 
Views:	248 
Size:	275.9 KB 
ID:	50915   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AA-3.jpg 
Views:	219 
Size:	276.1 KB 
ID:	50916   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Adaptive-01.jpg 
Views:	238 
Size:	261.3 KB 
ID:	50917   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	No-AA.jpg 
Views:	228 
Size:	303.5 KB 
ID:	50918  


  6. #36
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    But what AA settings are you using inside the Xstream plugin? Do you have it on automatic?

    Wildr3d. Yes the alpha is a serious problem. The only way I found to make it work was to do as you said, color everything black and white and render it out to "fake" the alpha. A serious problem to workflow since you then have to wait for two renders instead of one.

  7. #37
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Quote Originally Posted by Andyjaggy
    But what AA settings are you using inside the Xstream plugin? Do you have it on automatic?

    Wildr3d. Yes the alpha is a serious problem. The only way I found to make it work was to do as you said, color everything black and white and render it out to "fake" the alpha. A serious problem to workflow since you then have to wait for two renders instead of one.
    Yes, Vue was in auto. With Vue in Final and LW in AA1 (Perspective), I get 1' 44". Slowdown from 1' 11", but not too bad. I'm attaching the image for comparison.

    Also, what's the alpha problem you guys're talking about? Below is a render in LW/xStream of a test sphere I created in Vue using a PS map with alpha. Seems to render fine...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AA-Final-None.jpg 
Views:	213 
Size:	294.1 KB 
ID:	50923   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Alpha.jpg 
Views:	216 
Size:	34.6 KB 
ID:	50924  

  8. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by Sekhar
    Also, what's the alpha problem you guys're talking about? Below is a render in LW/xStream of a test sphere I created in Vue using a PS map with alpha. Seems to render fine...
    Lightwave is able to make an alpha a constant value from 0-255, when we need an object "held-out" out the alpha of an intersecting object we set the one that needs the hold-out to a value of 0 resulting in the image I have posted.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RGBA.jpg 
Views:	218 
Size:	33.2 KB 
ID:	50928  

  9. #39
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    It's almost as if LW doesn't really see the Vue objects. You can't get them to show up in the alpha, and the Vue buffers don't see the LW objects, which makes compositing rather difficult.

    I wish we just had native instancing in LW, then we could do vegetation inside of LW instead of fussing with Vue. Although the Vue ecosystems are rather awesome, you have so much control and the way it shapes and colors the trees differently is awesome, you can really get some great results, if you can get it to work with your workflow

  10. #40
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by Sekhar
    Here're a bunch of renders, for comparison.
    1. xStream, Final: 1' 11"
    2. LW/xStream, Old AA3 (Photoreal MB with 3 passes): 3' 10"
    3. LW/xStream, AA3: 3' 10"
    4. LW/xStream, AA1, 0.1 Adaptive: 9' 59"
    5. LW/xStream, No AA: 1' 4"
    So to get a LW/xStream render that has decent antialiasing expect double the render times, even more than that if you use adaptive sampling?

  11. #41
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    Have you tried setting the Xstream plugin quality to preview and then seeing what kind of results you can get with just LW AA? I found I actually got pretty decent results doing that. The main AA rays are performed by LW so setting Xstream it to Final or such will just increase the render time without really giving much more quality............. That's how I am understanding it anyway.

  12. #42
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,136
    So has anyone found some settings in Lightwave that will render trees reasonably quickly and without the dreaded flicker?

    I got some foreground trees I've imported into LW for rendering, but so far I'm not having much luck. I dont think adaptive AA is the way to go. Still flickers on 0.04 and any lower and it samples forever. I'll test a few frames at AA 15 and see if thats any better...
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  13. #43
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,144
    I wish I had read this thread before trying to use Vue on a project with a deadline.

    ::sigh::

    Live and learn.

  14. #44
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    Quote Originally Posted by Dexter2999
    I wish I had read this thread before trying to use Vue on a project with a deadline.

    ::sigh::

    Live and learn.
    LOL!

  15. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by stevecullum
    So has anyone found some settings in Lightwave that will render trees reasonably quickly and without the dreaded flicker?

    I got some foreground trees I've imported into LW for rendering, but so far I'm not having much luck. I don't think adaptive AA is the way to go. Still flickers on 0.04 and any lower and it samples forever. I'll test a few frames at AA 15 and see if thats any better...
    After weeks of R&D now the only way I've found to currently use Vue with Lightwave is to either export the plants,(which works now with the new patch), create Skyball images, or render on 3d cards and use as backdrops or clipmap elements. The patch seems to fix a few annoying things though, opengl works better and some Hypervue things were fixed.

    I'll post some images after we complete our latest job.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •