Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Flames & Text

  1. #1

    Flames & Text

    Hi Folks,

    Could you please shed some light in how to super impose/overlay video within text? I have some Digital Juice videos of fire/flames I like to use. I can make it work with Still JPEGS within the text but I can’t seem to make it work with video. Any Ideas??

    Thanks in advance….

  2. #2
    Use text with inverted alpha:

    Create simple text brush with any graphics program.
    Create a black background, cut a text hole with the brush just created.
    That will result a black paper with text cut in the center. Save it as 32 bits alpha image.
    Use the alpha image to overlay your fire/flame and you get your fire/flame in the text.
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  3. #3
    Here is another one.
    Just put your text (in white) into a black background and save it as a normal image file(24 bits with alpha).
    Put it under the fire/flame clip and turn on overlay.
    Use Luma key to cut the black. check your Key Tolerance value (say 35), and make it negative (i.e. -35).
    That's it.
    =============
    Chen Pan

    [email protected]
    =============

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,071
    I had a similar notion, but if you don't need the flaming text to appear above other video, it can all be done right on the timeline:
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5

    Thank You!!

    Thank you for all your help, that is exactly what I was looking for…. I will give it a try….

    Regards,

    Wes…

  6. #6
    Creator of BobFX for VT Bobt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Plainfield, IL
    Posts
    1,319
    Can you put video behind it doing that?
    Example

    Video People
    VideoFlame
    Title

    Ends up a People/Title with flames showing through?
    bobt_at_bobfx_com
    www.bobfx.com
    Bob Tasa

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,071
    Not in realtime, no. You could use a key-able background instead of the black I did (green would be good in this case), then perform an interim render of the flaming text, finally chromakeying the result over your "Video People" clip.

    For me, I'd rather just make nice clean flaming text (with an alpha channel) in Aura or Mirage, then use that ...
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    VT5 USER Rich Deustachio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Posts
    1,371
    Sounds like another feature request we can add to SE. The ability to map video onto text in the CG.
    Dynamic Video Productions
    Mount Laurel NJ

  9. #9
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    In case you have other tools in your toolbox, this is very easy to do in Vegas 7.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  10. #10
    Personally, I'm not crazy about the way the fire looks inside the text. It would look a lot better if the text was on fire so that it 's flames go beyond the text borders. Is that do-able or is that achieved in a different program altogether?

  11. #11
    VT5 USER Rich Deustachio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Posts
    1,371
    Bluff Titler does flames on the the text, Mirage might do it as well.
    Last edited by Rich Deustachio; 07-29-2007 at 11:06 AM.
    Dynamic Video Productions
    Mount Laurel NJ

  12. #12
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,071
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony R
    Personally, I'm not crazy about the way the fire looks inside the text. It would look a lot better if the text was on fire so that it 's flames go beyond the text borders. Is that do-able or is that achieved in a different program altogether?
    I'd sooner do it in a compositor (Additive mode would do a nicer job), but it can be done.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  13. #13
    CreatvGnius
    Guest

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie
    I'd sooner do it in a compositor (Additive mode would do a nicer job), but it can be done.
    For the record, Steve, why is it that Aura and Mirage both may not be considered, in the fullest sense of the word, "compositor" apps?

    I oftimes hear folks longing for NewTek to come out with a "compositor" app. What's currently missing (say, from Aura and from Mirage), although one can certainly *do* some compositing therein?

    Oooh. Wait! Lemme' guess: the fact that you cannot manipulate individual tracks, giving each a "compositor" processing tool -- much like one can find within Sony Vegas -- is *that* it?
    -PeterG

  14. #14
    CreatvGnius
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by ScorpioProd
    In case you have other tools in your toolbox, this is very easy to do in Vegas 7.
    Personally, Eugene, I'm amazed with Vegas' compositing power. However, I must admit that at times, I get myself confused a bit -- relative to just what I'm supposed to do, on a given track, relative to the compositor type I ought to select, for what I want to accomplish --

    And although Vegas' built-in Online Help function does a fair job at giving visual cues about what each of those settings do, for some reason I still get a bit fogged up in the "build" process.

    Any *particular* read, or video tute, that you find does an awesome job of explaining Vegas' compositing routines, with better clarity, than does that static "Online Help" system?

    TIA.

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,071
    Quote Originally Posted by CreatvGnius
    For the record, Steve, why is it that Aura and Mirage both may not be considered, in the fullest sense of the word, "compositor" apps?
    I have to rely on my own 'developed-in-house-over-time' definitions to answer that, Peter - but if you'll bear with me:

    Mirage and Aura alike are primarily paint and animation programs, with a greater or lesser dash of image processing effects and compositing abilities thrown in for practical reasons. Internally, however, they operate in quite different fashion than a dedicated compositing tool (such as AE, Fusion, Shake, etc.)

    Aura and Mirage, as dictated by their paint and animation raison d'etre, incline to being 'render/apply as you go,' rather than 'show me a preview of what these settings will produce if I render' - the latter being the general workflow of most compositing apps.

    You can often create the same result in either environment, but in a different manner - and a compositing app is generally more 'forgiving' in nature. You can simply pull up the project, tweak a few settings, and re-render. Not so with Aura or Mirage, least not with anything like the ease.

    Both approaches contrast with SE and VT-EDIT in several ways, as well - notably in the absence of common compositing transfer modes ('Merge' modes in Aura/Mirage parlance) from SE/VT.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •