Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Memory Errors

  1. #1
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327

    Memory Errors

    Well I finally have run into memory issues in LW. "Not enough memory" "Polys will be rendered as faces" etc..... I check the system and have plenty of memory available. I'm just thankful it continues to work after I click okay on the error messages.

  2. #2
    Member zatara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    brazil
    Posts
    224
    I am also having this problem. This is also happen when I try to increase render subpatch level.

  3. #3
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,884
    Quote Originally Posted by Andyjaggy
    Well I finally have run into memory issues in LW. "Not enough memory" "Polys will be rendered as faces" etc..... I check the system and have plenty of memory available. I'm just thankful it continues to work after I click okay on the error messages.
    Open Task Manager, Process tab, then enable Show Virtual Memory Usage column.. and you should see that you have reached 2 GB memory limit for lightwav.exe process..

    What resolution image are you rendering?

    While rendering f.e. 4096x4096 texture, baking surface, your frame buffer can be even up to 670 MB of memory (usually end up in virtual, so you don't see it in Task Manager without show virtual memory usage column enabled).. This is what you can get back rendering in VirtualRender..

  4. #4
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    No I'm not even close to the 2 GB limit. I still had about 800 mb free. I closed layout and restarted and the problem went away.

  5. #5
    Adapting Artist jasonwestmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11,398
    Quote Originally Posted by Andyjaggy
    No I'm not even close to the 2 GB limit. I still had about 800 mb free. I closed layout and restarted and the problem went away.
    Yep, I get the same problem and when I restart layout I can often render even more polygons than I could start with by increasing the sub-D level. There's never any consistency on this issue concering polygon subdivision. Is this the nature of the beast?
    All that is powerful or long standing is first conceived in the imagination; supported by the hope of possibility and then made manifest in our commitment of our current physical reality.

  6. #6
    LightWave Engineer Jarno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    597
    So you had 800MB free. Maybe LW tried to allocate 801MB and failed. Just because there is nnnMB it doesn't follow that it should not run out of memory.

    ---JvdL---

  7. #7
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,884
    Sounds like something is trashing memory, leaving memory not freed.. After this happening app can't no longer allocate one big memory area.. It was big problem in AmigaOS which had no virtual memory than can be used instead..

  8. #8
    LightWave Engineer Jarno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    597
    It could also be a memory fragmentation issue. Enough memory free in total, but it's all in small pieces from which the memory manager can't create a single block large enough. That would also explain why the problem goes away after restarting LW.

    ---JvdL---

  9. #9
    Adapting Artist jasonwestmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11,398
    I probably have this problem then Jarno. I suppose the only option is to reinstall my os? No fear there, since it would be a good idea anyway after 3 years of using windows without reinstall. Pretty impressive for windows. But I do have a lot of apps on this thing
    All that is powerful or long standing is first conceived in the imagination; supported by the hope of possibility and then made manifest in our commitment of our current physical reality.

  10. #10
    I'm not really suprised that this is still an, or probably I'm suprised that NT didn't fiqure out a way to avoid it since they rewrote the render-engine. It has always been a mess in LW, but hopefully won't be forever.

    I remember doing stuff in Strata on a 256MB Mac way back in the beginning of all this. No problems, never, even with huge rendere sizes. Unfortunately LW never managed, even now, to run as smoothly in this field.

    Even if you manage to start your render, sometimes the pixel or image filters will crash your final render before saving, because they run out of memory. Big misery.

    Tip 1: Save scene, close LW and start to render immediately after re-opening LW.

    Tip 2: Display and render Sub-Patch level need to be the same. Everything gets slow, but LW is able to render much more polygons without crashing. Otherwise LW needs much more memory to subpatch a copy of the displayed object for rendering and will run into memory problems.

    Unfortunately the problem described above will start a chain of error messages which always lead to a crash of LW. IMO bad programming as everything is lost and can't be recovered (at least the stuff you changed since last saving).

    Hopefully this issue won't be there for very much longer. NT, please solve this. Should be on your list since 5.6 or even longer. I don't get why nobody cared to find a solution yet. Especially when 9.x comes up with all this new rewritten code.

    Cheers
    Thomas

  11. #11
    LightWave Engineer Jarno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonwestmas
    I suppose the only option is to reinstall my os?
    Nononono. That would be like rebuilding your house because the garbage bin is full. This has nothing to do with what's on disk. Memory fragmentation is purely a problem with the state of the memory used by an application. Simply restarting the application clears it up.

    ---JvdL---

  12. #12
    Adapting Artist jasonwestmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11,398
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarno
    Nononono. That would be like rebuilding your house because the garbage bin is full. This has nothing to do with what's on disk. Memory fragmentation is purely a problem with the state of the memory used by an application. Simply restarting the application clears it up.

    ---JvdL---
    Okay then, thanks for telling me, I know what to expect now. Software is filled with little quirks and each app has it's own. I'm willing to accept that fact of life.
    All that is powerful or long standing is first conceived in the imagination; supported by the hope of possibility and then made manifest in our commitment of our current physical reality.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •