Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Radiosity settings for animation

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    107

    Radiosity settings for animation

    Can anyone point me to some settings for radiosity that would be good for animation. I can get some nice looks without animation but once you move bad bad idea, it goes crazy.

    Been trying the new LW 9.2 radiosity Final Gather, and have had no luck so far for animation purposes. Help please.

  2. #2
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,168
    You'll need Caching and Interpolated turned on, only have the Camera move, and render on just one computer.
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    107
    I have those turned on but still getting the bad splouches in the animation.

  4. #4
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,168
    Do the splotches move/flicker or are they fixed?
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  5. #5
    W.Bush avatar deleted
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    243
    i have no patience with interpolate...

    use final gather with not much samples like 12
    rad bounces of 5
    get ray recursion limit down to about 6-8
    get antialias to at least 15

    (and last but not least with 9.2.......) get screamernet working and fire away!

    i am about to render 3-4 minutes of archviz using this and i have access to about 20 dualcores and a few quads (hapiness)
    ---------------
    These days, Lightwave's basically just a platform for running plugins.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by tektonik
    ... i am about to render 3-4 minutes of archviz using this and i have access to about 20 dualcores and a few quads (hapiness)
    You are really a very happy man with so much CPU power under your hands
    BTW: I will give your settings a go...
    Eddy Marillat - PIXYM
    WS : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - i9 7980XE 2,6ghz 18C/36T - 32GB Ram- 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
    GPU Net Rig : MB Biostar - Celeron 2,8 ghz 2C/2T - 8GB Ram - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7 64

  7. #7
    Dreamer MooseDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mount Whoville, VT
    Posts
    1,438
    jthompson3d: are you having problems with splotches or flickering? there's different ways, and setting tweaks, to attack each problem.

    chk out the tutorials here: http://www.lightwiki.com/Tutorial_ideas for some ideas. good stuff there
    Last edited by MooseDog; 05-31-2007 at 08:53 PM.
    We are pirates, we are artists...

    Blog

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by MooseDog
    jthompson3d: are you having problems with splotches or flickering? there's different ways, and setting tweaks, to attack each problem.

    chk out the tutorials here: http://www.lightwiki.com/Tutorial_ideas for some ideas. good stuff there

    I'm having problems with splotches moving. I did some more test and got a great setting now for animation.
    Settings I used:

    Final Gather
    Cache Radiosity---checked
    Interpolated---checked

    Intensity: 500%
    RPE: 500
    Indiredt Bounce: 2
    Tolerance: .5
    MES: 1'
    MPS: 3.0

    These setting after doing many tests seem to fix all the problems I was having and it is onlu taking around 7 mintues a frame.


    BUT if anyone has any better settings please feel free to let me know.
    I'm doing a mass area, architectual animations.

  9. #9
    Dreamer MooseDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mount Whoville, VT
    Posts
    1,438
    what's better for me may not be better for you (due to no two scenes being the same), but i've had success with roughly your settings, tweaked thus:

    Final Gather
    Cache Radiosity---checked
    Interpolated---checked

    Intensity: 500% (just to note, probably the most subjective setting imho)
    RPE: 75 (but with an occlusion shader on my surfaces for better contact "shadows")
    Indirect Bounce: 2
    Tolerance: 0
    MES: 2-3'
    MPS: 1-2

    coupled with these aa settings:

    adaptive sampling---checked
    threshold: .02 (this seems to take care of noise/splotches nicely)

    it is more complicated than before as rad and aa work very closely together in pursuit of quality and speed.
    We are pirates, we are artists...

    Blog

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •