Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Sub-surface scattering

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    57

    Sub-surface scattering

    HEY!

    Not much out there yet about nodes, learning trial by fire.

    Trying to apply Sigma for SSS. It works when my object (piece of hard candy) is alone in layout. When I put it in the scene with its package, it goes all dark.

    The Sigma node itself is bright & shows the SSS when I crank up the specularity (when the candy is alone)

    The node goes dark (& so does the object) when it's in the final scene.

    I'm throwing tons of lights on it... what could be effecting this node?

    Understand if you couldn't even begin to guess... just throwing it out there.

  2. #2
    Crossed the mantle...CORE Twisted_Pixel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    536
    I haven't even looked at nodes yet, so can't help.
    Posting screen shots of the problem, may help others figure it out though.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    BH
    Posts
    292
    try to lower the value of Translucency...
    I don't know actually but if you can post a screenshot or the files.

    anyway why you don't use Simple Skin node?!
    it's easier to do SSS material with it

  4. #4
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    57
    Thanks for the feedback... here are the screenshots.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Picture 2.png 
Views:	206 
Size:	78.1 KB 
ID:	46729   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Picture 3.png 
Views:	221 
Size:	86.9 KB 
ID:	46730  

  5. #5
    Registered User darkChief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    637
    From what I know, you'll need the perspective camera and double sided turned on for sigma and simple skin.

  6. #6
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    I know this is probably kind of a dumb question, but you HAVE plugged in the node, haven’t you? It doesn’t seem so in the screenshot..

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    BH
    Posts
    292
    maybe it's your lighting setup is different in the final scene..
    try to put a light near that object and see if it's effecting it.

    if this didn't effect
    try to change the distances in the node settings

  8. #8
    \\ is sparkling // Iain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    4,441
    The nodes aren't plugged in.
    Oops - that's what Mark The Great said!
    portfolio

    The Liver is evil and must be punished!

  9. #9
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    57
    oh yeah, plugged in, turned on... I'm just missing something very basic here.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    BH
    Posts
    292
    Omg!!

    ^_^

  11. #11
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Now that you've plugged it in, I hope you show us the result!

  12. #12
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    57
    no no no, sorry, I meant I've done that, and no change results...

  13. #13
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Ohh... I could give you a screenshot of a working sigma node setup if that would help.

  14. #14
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    57
    I'd love to see one, thanks very much.

    I'm sure the results are also dependant on lighting setup as well as background options... nothing I change gives me anything but a black preview in the node (and a black result after rendering).

  15. #15
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Here you go.

    It's lit by a luminous poly/final gather sort of setup, so you won't see anything much in the openGL window.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •