Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Dynamics in 9.2

  1. #1
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386

    Dynamics in 9.2

    I don't know if anyone's asked this yet, and I couldn't find a thread on it, so I'll ask it...

    I've not really had the opportunity to use particles in 9.2, but today, I figured I'd see how it was. And something was messed up.

    My particles seem to be entirely immune to gravity. I can push the gravity up to 100 meters per second and the 'weight' up to 100 but nothing happens!

    Help!

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    PORTLAND
    Posts
    254
    Hello

    Have you tried negitive 9.8 meters per second that is gravity.

  3. #3
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,273
    You haven't turned your gravity's falloff to on have you? Or set a group in your gravity or particles?
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  4. #4
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Well, I had a positive value because, for this scene, I was wanting the particles to fall up...

    Hmmm...

    I never checked the falloff...

    I'll look into that.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    I played around with it a little more and it appears that gravity (whether done in the particle window or a seperate gravity generator) takes about 10 times longer to effect the particles...

  6. #6
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,273
    How big is your scene?
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  7. #7
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Pretty small... I was just doing a quick particle test.

    Just one emitter with no more than 600 particles...

  8. #8
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,273
    I mean in units m or cm or whatever?
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  9. #9
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Oh...

    The usual 1 meter grid.

  10. #10
    Or perhaps not so great Mark The Great's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    386
    Ok, I think I figured it out...

    Some maniac set my default scene frame rate to 360/1 second... It should work now...

  11. #11
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,273
    LOL That's the first time I've heard that.
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •