Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: RLA/RPF Export?

  1. #1

    Angry RLA/RPF Export?

    Hi, I am having zero success exporting RLA/RPF data. I have the Object ID and Material Buffers selected but when I try using it in Discreet Combustion and try to switch out the texture it looks like only every other vertical line gets replaced.


    Anybody have success with this process?

    LW 7.5c
    Discreet Combustion 2.1
    Mac OS 10.2.6

  2. #2
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    It seem to work in Adobe After Effects, as long as it's set to 8bpc mode. When it's set to 16bpc the image gets scambled.

    Sorry, I can't say how it's done in Discreet Combustion.

  3. #3
    Hi BeamTracer,

    Would you please post the steps you did to get the Material ID and Object ID to export as RPF data. Besides setting the "Extended RPF Export"plug-in under Image filters did you set-up the material IDs anywhere else (e.g., special buffers in the surface editor) or have to setup UV maps. I am getting z-buffer info out correctly, but not material or object ID.

    I have a contract where I have to swap out tons of texture for multiple passes of the same animation. I need this to work, even if it means buying Afer Effects.

    Thanks,

    Ari

  4. #4
    Student of Life mwh710's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    135
    tried to delete, but can't

  5. #5
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    Hi Ari. Well, I don't use these features very much, as it's limited to 8bpc, and doesn't work with 16bpc. Also, you must keep anti-aliasing on, as the object and material channels get corrupted when anti-aliasing is off.

    Because I'm not doing it all the time, I'm a bit hesitant to recommend After Effects for this purpose, but maybe it is what you need.

    I loaded up a couple of primatives into Lightwave 7.5 (OS X), then rendered out an RPF file, using the Extended RPF plug-in in Lightwave's image filter section (not the render menu).

    Then I brought the image into After Effects 5.5 (OS X), and applied the 'Extract 3D' filter (in the effects menu).

    The results are below.
    Moral of the day:
    Worry about your own morals, not someone else's!

  6. #6
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    Here are a couple of primatives, and this is the normal RGB image.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    Here is the object ID channel, extracted by After Effects:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    Here is the material ID channel, extracted by After Effects:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    I forgot to mention that you need After Effects Production Bundle to do this. I don't think the standard version of After Effects has the 3D filters.

    You could probably use AE's 16bpc mode by rendering to 16bpc PSD images in addition to 8bpc RPF files, though AE will throw up warning messages about your image depth.

    Also note that After Effects 6.0 is due for imminent release in days or weeks.

    Below are AE's 3D filters:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Beamtracer; 06-14-2003 at 06:31 PM.
    Moral of the day:
    Worry about your own morals, not someone else's!

  10. #10
    I would never have thought. Since I was just setting up test cases l left AA to none. As soon, by your recomendation, I turned AA to medium Combustion worked just fine with RPF data.

    Thanks much for your help,

    Ari

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    142
    I got RLA and RPF to work in both Combustion and AfterFX, but not in Shake

    It's perfect for creating fast rendered DOF and fog effects.

    It's, strange that it doesn't work in shake.. maybe I do something wrong..

  12. #12
    Yep, DOF and fog alwas worked great for me in Combustion, but this time i have to swap out tons of texture maps. I never did that before and it did not work as expected. Once AA was increased it seems to work just fine.

    Question for you on DOF. I have always used box blur because gausian blur does not seem to work. have you had any succes with gaussian blur for DOF?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    142
    Actually I don't remember what type of blur I used, it was a long time ago and I don't work at the company that had Combustion any more.

  14. #14
    Gold Member Beamtracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Citizen of the World
    Posts
    2,226
    Originally posted by claw
    I got RLA and RPF to work in both Combustion and AfterFX, but not in Shake
    Lucky Shake user!

  15. #15
    Notice he said it DIDN'T work in Shake.
    What's so lucky about that?

    Cheers,
    JS

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •