Thread: Can Lightwave use what Apple's Quads offer?

Can Lightwave use what Apple's Quads offer?

So, I am taking the plunge. In the the next few weeks, I am going to buy a used Quad G5. Sometime after, I will be getting Lightwave, with which I have some experience. I have followed this discussion forum someone but there are some details I want to be clearer on.

Both of Apple's quad-core Macs can take relatively large amounts of RAM. My question various how much the light weight to benefit from this. I realize that those doing very large polygon counts would be the main, I hope to be doing this soon.

So does Lightwave benefit from 4, 8, or even 16 gigabytes of RAM? I actually know that as a 32-bit app, it wouldn't see it all now, but I anticipate that future 64-bit Mac versions will run on the Quad G5. Can Lightwave max out available RAM?

Also, are there any benefits from trying to get one with a day Quadro 4500?

Thanks in advance for any and all info

Once Leopard is out and Lightwave goes 64-bit for Mac, it will be able to use all 16 gigs of RAM.

At the moment, both Layout and Modeler can use 4 gigabytes each.

The Quadro 4500 is a waste of perfectly good money.
    Are my spline guides showing?

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Obvious
    The Quadro 4500 is a waste of perfectly good money.

Unless you need to drive two 30" displays. But if you've got that kind of green you wouldn't be wringing your hands over a measly Quad purchase.

rg

MacBook Pro Intel Core i7 2.66 GHZ • 8 GB • NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M • OSX 10.10.4 / Win 7
    Mac Pro Intel Xeon 6 Core 3.3 GHZ • 48 GB • NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti 2x27" • OSX 10.10.4 / Win 10

Honestly, I don't think I'd even want to work on two 30" displays. IMAX is cool and everything, but it wouldn't make for a very ergonomic workstation.

Maybe if you sit in front of one (30" screen) and use it for a bit, you might change your mind