Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Universal Binary

  1. #1

    Universal Binary

    I may have missed this but will 9.0 be released as a Universal Binary for the Intel MAC. If not, any word on when?

    Just bought one after using Windows since 3.1 and being a system admin for over 20+ years and Yes, I'm bloody lovin it.

    Thanks in advance

    Don.

  2. #2
    Super Member Captain Obvious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,502
    They've implied that it will happen some time during the LW9 cycle, though 9.0 will NOT be a universal binary.

    And just an FYI: It's "Mac," not "MAC."
    Are my spline guides showing?

  3. #3
    Registered User RonGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dawson Creek, BC, Canada
    Posts
    562
    Newtek have publicly stated in these forums that they would be releasing a Universal Binary version during the Version 9 cycle. It will not be with the initial 9.0 release but probably towards the end of this year. Fingers crossed

    Hope this helps. I too am waiting for this, big time.

    Oops, see i was beat on the post, sorry.

    Welcome to the Mac, hope you enjoy it as much as i do.

    Ron
    Last edited by RonGC; 06-14-2006 at 02:12 PM.

  4. #4
    Does this mean that it won't run on an Intel Mac? I want to get one of those, and I don't want to use Windows that much (Mac + Linux would be great).

  5. #5
    Registered User RonGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dawson Creek, BC, Canada
    Posts
    562
    LW will run on the Mactel, just in rosetta which means slower. However several people are using bootcamp to run XP and lw on the mactel at full speed. It is a workaround until LW goes Universal Binary and we can run it at full speed.

    Ron

  6. #6
    Super Member Captain Obvious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,502
    You have three choices:

    Run Lightwave via Rosetta. This is slow.

    Use Boot Camp to boot into Windows, and run Lightwave there. This means you'll have to run Windows.

    Buy a Power Mac G5. Less future-proof than an Intel Mac, but a lot more now-proof.
    Are my spline guides showing?

  7. #7
    Doodler BazC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    2,647
    Slightly OT but does anyone know if Bootcamp is reliable now? I heard horror stories of people getting stuck in Windows!
    Mac OS10.5.2, Quad 2.66GHz Mac Pro, 3Gb RAM Geforce 7300GT 256mb VRAM

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by BazC
    Slightly OT but does anyone know if Bootcamp is reliable now? I heard horror stories of people getting stuck in Windows!
    A co-worker here has a brand new Macbook pro and he hasn't had any problems. He is playing Oblivion and opened a couple 3d apps to show me.

    Now Bootcamp is still in beta so you know how that goes...
    -angel

    Back you robots! Nobody ruins my family vacation but me!

  9. #9
    Doodler BazC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    2,647
    Thanks for the info!
    Mac OS10.5.2, Quad 2.66GHz Mac Pro, 3Gb RAM Geforce 7300GT 256mb VRAM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •