Thread: Collisionmeshes

Collisionmeshes

After putzing around with half-life 2 our game dev team came to the conclusion that there wasn't enough support for our coders for what we wanted to do. We want to make a fresh 3rd person game, not a fps mod. We began looking into Torque as a possibility. I was wondering just how the collision detection worked for walls and props. Can we import models from lightwave and have them work with collision detection? e.g. level meshes (walls) tables etc. ?? I'm by no means a coder but I thought I'd ask on their behalf.

Not BANNED!, and quit claiming you are. - The Mods somnambulance's Avatar
    I wouldnt use Torque if I were you. If you really insist on it, I will sell you my licence.

As for collision mesh; I am pretty sure the Doom engine is really dialed in for using LW, and I know ID sets up collision mesh for everything in their levels. I know it is a FPS, but it has a level editor and you can just change the camera to 3rd person. Unreal engine has a great level editor, and adding collision mesh is easy there as well.

I have tried and tried to use Torque... I dont remember seeing anything about collision mesh in the documentation I read. That doesnt mean it isnt there, I just never got to the point with that engine where I needed to think about it.
    Last edited by somnambulance; 06-01-2006 at 05:11 PM.

So what kind of frustrations or obstacles did you encounter with Torque. I know this is a large can of worms but I'm not afraid to ask for obvious reasons.
    I really appreciate the reply. Doom3 is really nice but again, not much support for those newer engines. One more question: Are there actually MD5 animation exporters for lightwave now that actually work?
    Last edited by jasonwestmas; 06-01-2006 at 06:04 PM.

I am not positive about the animated md5's actually working or not. I just DL'ed the .exe again and it reminded me of this thread. Check out idDevNet.com for info about the Doom 3 engine.