Thread: what tools do you guys use to add detail

what tools do you guys use to add detail

Hey, I am trying to get into subpatch modelling, ive been only modelling for games so far, but id like to learn to learn how to model with subpatches.
    So far ive been able to model a head then turn it into subpatches but i was just wondeirng what do you guys use to add more detail in places, for example the eyes. I initially thought that ppl would subdivide polygons but then that creates 5 sides polies, so you cant really subpatch properly anymore. So what tools do you guys use, for situations like thaT?
    thanks in advance

I'm no expert (or even at all proficient), but Surrealist described some good techniques in this thread:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=38772

Might check it out. For myself, I use Extend Plus a *lot* (shortcut "e"), combined with Move, Rotate, Shrink, Drag, etc.

mTp
    Last edited by MonroePoteet; 08-07-2005 at 05:15 PM.

- smoothshift, move, rinse, repeat

- extender as mentioned

- bandsaw, and knife

- weightmaps for fine-tuning

- template drill in stencil mode

- displacement maps

- If I get the dreaded >4 polies, I cut, and repatch to get rid of them

That's the major part of my list, and I'm no expert either. Just depends on what I'm trying to make on what I'll do to make it.

Hoop
    www.mean3d.com

"Problems worthy of attack, prove their worth by hitting back." -- Piet Hein

Thanks mTp

I think I put this link in the other thread but just to be sure here it is:

http://www.suture.net/tutorials/modeling/index.php

Though this starts out on the basic tools it gets into some very good techniques using modeler tools. I have been learning that the technique is key. What you do with the tools and how.

Another great rescorce is Larry Shultz website at www.splinegod.com there is a link there for online training. He has some great videos many exerpts are free to watch.