Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: A little help???

  1. #1
    Newbie Member hbsometh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boston Area
    Posts
    10

    A little help???

    Hey there!!

    I'm fairly new to modeling, coming from an extensive background in graphic design/print/photoretouching, etc. I've mainly worked in 2D....I've been working with the FABULOUS SplineGod Larry to get up to speed. However, I'm having a problem with some polys and can't figure it out. It looks fine when viewed normally, but when I TAB into subpatch mode, it freaks out...I've included screen caps of the situation, maybe some fabulous person on here can help me out and tell me what I'm doing wrong! :-) THANKS!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    [FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=2][B]Barry Baranoski[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
    ==============
    [FONT=Times New Roman][I]Technical Director[/I]
    Somethingorother Productions, LLC
    20 Elm Street, Unit 4
    Cohasset, MA 02025
    617/785/2084[/FONT]

  2. #2
    Registered User jnddepew's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    509
    does Lightwave give you a message like "only polygons with three or fourt verticies can be converted to subpatches"? if so, try this:

    While not in subpatch mode, try selecting the polygons that are messing up in subpatch mode. then click the "triple" tool in the multiply tab. now try switching to subpatches.

    I hope it helps.

    (by the way, I'm not a fabulous person. I'm just a twelve year old newbie who just got lightwave a few days ago)

  3. #3
    Try adding geometry where the yellow lines (see image) are drawn. This will make this huge >4 point polygon into two 4-point polygons. Be sure and include the points in both polygons, and then merge them.

    See image at http://63.73.84.9/joel/eye_goof_rev.jpg for an example.


  4. #4
    Registered User jnddepew's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by joeldberry
    Try adding geometry where the yellow lines (see image) are drawn. This will make this huge >4 point polygon into two 4-point polygons. Be sure and include the points in both polygons, and then merge them.

    See image at http://63.73.84.9/joel/eye_goof_rev.jpg for an example.

    just using the triple tool is simpler

  5. #5
    It is simpler, true. And sometimes easier. And sometimes it may make sense...

    But ask just about anyone around here and they will tell you that creating correct geometry in the first place is much prefered to just "triangulating" when you have >4 polygons or non-planars.

    It's not a matter of simpler or easier or quicker, it's a matter of creating the best geometry for models from the start, and using quads is what SDS is designed to work with.

    Just create a bunch of triangle polygons in your model and then go back and try to modify the geometry and you may run into more problems than its worth when trying SDS compared to just being careful from the start...
    Last edited by joeldberry; 05-31-2005 at 04:00 PM.

  6. #6

    Quads.

    Quads quads quads.

    Only quads in subpatch mode period and only under very very rare circumstances use a tirangle - maybe only on an almost flat plane if at all.

    Triangles create smothing errors in subpatch.

    Another thing that will cause smoothing errors is 6 poly vertexes - points that share 6 edges.

    Max should be 5 and optimum though not always possible is 4.

  7. #7
    Newbie Member hbsometh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boston Area
    Posts
    10
    Thanks everyone for the help. What I did in the long run was to delete the poly that was there, re-selected the points to make 2 new polys. What a great group of people on here! :-)
    [FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=2][B]Barry Baranoski[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
    ==============
    [FONT=Times New Roman][I]Technical Director[/I]
    Somethingorother Productions, LLC
    20 Elm Street, Unit 4
    Cohasset, MA 02025
    617/785/2084[/FONT]

  8. #8
    Registered User jnddepew's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    509

    Talking

    I wonder if poor hbsometh meant to start a debate on the best way to fix a many-verticied polygon so it will be ble to convert to subpatch mode.

  9. #9
    Also, in this particular example, converting to triangles would interrupt the polygon flow from the other quads, which is just a bad idea altogether... If it's one thing I have learned from countless Lightwave 3D experts, it is that "it's all about the flow!"

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by jnddepew
    I wonder if poor hbsometh meant to start a debate on the best way to fix a many-verticied polygon so it will be ble to convert to subpatch mode.
    I hear ya,

    Just not a good idea to use tirangles is all. Simple. Not for subpatch.

  11. #11
    Triangles can cause little annoying problems when combined with SDSs... like these just discovered recently...

    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=34586

  12. #12
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    Triangles generally work fine with SubDs. Sometimes I intentionally use them. Most of the time you see problems with them when you have a lot in the same area.

  13. #13
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,749
    I've used tri's a bit with subpatches, usually in inconspicuous areas, and they work fine. The biggest problem is the 6 polygon points. These make horrid messes.

    Still, have to say that deleting them and rebuilding was the best solution, looks like you had some oddly welded points and some duplicate geometry!
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •