Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 275

Thread: Bug Workshop: LightWave 8.2

  1. #1
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,354

    Bug Workshop: LightWave 8.2

    In the interest of having a one-stop shop for reporting bugs on the forum, this thread is for reporting bugs and identifying which platforms are affected. Please try to cross-reference the Bug Workshop threads on the Mac and PC support forums - all bugs should appear here, and platform specific bugs should be reported on the Bug Workshop thread on the platform specific forums as well.

    Suggested format:

    -------------------------------------

    # 001 Ref number for tracking and Bug confirmation from other users.

    LW 8.2, OS: Mac 10.3.4/Win XP, G4 800/P4 Xeon 2.8G, 512MB/1GB

    -------------------------------------

    Followed then of course by the bug report, with numbered steps to repeat the error. Followed hopefully by confirmation from other users.
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc.
    NewTek.com
    LightWave3D.com
    NewTek USA Facebook
    Twitter
    LinkedIn
    Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.

  2. #2

    Alpha Channel / Shadow Density Bug

    001 [number edited by moderator - let's not count the example above as our first item!]

    LW 8.2, OS: Win2000, P4 2.8Ghz, 1GB

    Found by sms in this thread:
    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=32672

    Description:
    When a surface has any Reflection, and the surface's Alpha Channel is set to Shadow Density, the relfections are being added to the alpha along with the shadows.

    Steps:
    1. Set up a scene with a refelctive surface and something to be reflected. Table top with a can of soda on top, for exampe.

    2. Set table surface to have some Reflection value, and on the Advanced tab, set the Alpha Channel to "Shadow Density".

    3. Render, and inspect the alpha.

    (Example scene available in thread mentioned above.)

  3. #3

    LW8.2 handles image sequence fields incorrectly...

    002 [number edited by moderator]

    LW 8.2, OS: Win2000, P4 2.8Ghz, 1GB

    Found by ImageShoppe in this thread:
    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=31926

    Description:
    When field rendering, field-rendered image sequences used in the scene (on surface textures, for example) render incorrectly, with only one field from the sequence making it into the final render.

    Steps:
    1. Create a field-rendered image sequence, with something moving fast enough in the scene to make each field distinguishable from the other.

    2. Load this image-sequence, set Interlace to either "even first" or "odd first" and apply the seq to the surface of an object.

    3. In Camera Properties, set Field Rendering to the same as in step #2.

    4. Render. You should see that only one field of the sequence is used, unlike previous versions of LW (7.5) where each field is properly mapped to the corresponding field of the final render.

  4. #4

    Crash in Master LScripts with flags callback

    003 [number added by moderators]

    // worked up to 8.0.2
    // crash on open options in 8.2

    @script master

    create { AddNull("Cursor"); }

    flags { return(SCENE); } // removing this line solves crash

    options
    {
    cursorObj=Mesh("Cursor");
    cursPos=cursorObj.getPosition(0.0); // crashing here
    info(cursPos);
    }

  5. #5
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,354
    Quote Originally Posted by #lwrs_web
    003 [number added by moderators]

    // worked up to 8.0.2
    // crash on open options in 8.2

    @script master

    create { AddNull("Cursor"); }

    flags { return(SCENE); } // removing this line solves crash

    options
    {
    cursorObj=Mesh("Cursor");
    cursPos=cursorObj.getPosition(0.0); // crashing here
    info(cursPos);
    }

    Have you reviewed the SDK changes to see if they would explain why this is happening, i.e., that a change in the SDK requires a change in an LScript making use of that aspect of the SDK?
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc.
    NewTek.com
    LightWave3D.com
    NewTek USA Facebook
    Twitter
    LinkedIn
    Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.

  6. #6

    Re: (003) Crash in Master LScripts with flags callback

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck
    Have you reviewed the SDK changes to see if they would explain why this is happening, i.e., that a change in the SDK requires a change in an LScript making use of that aspect of the SDK?
    Yes, there are a lot of new possibilities and some changes, but I can see no reason why the crash happens there.

    - the new features are not yet implemented in LScript
    - Master LScript's flags has a different meaning than SDK's flags callback

    this should be solved by LScript IMHO and should not be the problem of the user.

  7. #7

    004 *.rgb and*sgi file format broken in8.2

    004
    LW 8.2, OS: WinXp, P4 3.4Ghz, 2GB

    new sgi.p and sgi64.p plugins don't work in 8.2. I do a lot of work for military simulation companies and these image loaders are very necessery to me but when I try to load a *.rgb or *.sgi image nothing happens....I found a work around replacing the new plugs by the older ones (from 8.01)...but it's still annoying...

  8. #8
    005

    Lw 8.2 OS:WinXp pro SP1, P4 2.8Ghz, 2GB RAM, 3Dlabs GFX

    In Modeler - Numeric tab don't alow smaller size than 238W * 327H while Lw 8.0.1, 8.0 and 7.5c (as far as i tested) alow smaller sizes.
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  9. #9
    How Old? Really? Aww Heck colkai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    7,806
    Quote Originally Posted by jgjones
    001
    Confirmed.

    PC
    LW 8.01 (using original configs)
    AMD1800+XP
    Win 2000 / 1GB RAM SP3 / AGP FX5200 card 128mb (with NVdia drivers 6.14)
    Too old to die young.

  10. #10
    Confirmed.

    Quote Originally Posted by romrom74
    004
    LW 8.2, OS: WinXp, P4 3.4Ghz, 2GB

    new sgi.p and sgi64.p plugins don't work in 8.2.

  11. #11
    Newbie Member NormJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington (Issaquah)
    Posts
    85

    Lightwave Hang Problem when in UV Display Mode

    #006

    1) Change one of the view ports to UV Texture mode.
    2) Create a new UV texture map.
    3) In layer 1, create a mesh with UVs (example create a box and select "Make UVs" check box).
    4) Change to layer 2.
    5) Create a new UV texture map.
    6) With the second texture map still selected, switch back to layer 1.
    7) Press the a key to Fit All Items in Views - Lightwave hangs.

    LW 8.2, Win 2000, Amd Athlon 64 2800+, 1GB Ram, Geforce 3/64 MB.
    And God said, "Let there be light, and there was light."

  12. #12
    Can confirm #006.

    using steps above Modeler froze on me when I had switched back to empty 2nd layer after doing [a] autofit.

    WinXP Pro
    Service Pack 1
    2.8 GHZ P4
    1Gig ram

  13. #13
    007

    Platform: Windows XP

    Change in behavior of numeric tool

    In LW [8.2] numeric tool now requires use of sliders or carriage return to activate entry. In LW [8.0] simply entering the number and going to a new cell was enough to activate. This is an annoyance, but rises to the level of a bug in "Export as 3DS", where a carriage return in a cell causes the requestor to close prematurely, so only way to effect the change is to use the slider.

  14. #14

    pivot and render outlines bugs.

    Windows XP pro, Athlon64, 1gig ram.

    Model exported from Modo had the pivot point in the wrong position (centered on x0). I thought this was a Modo problem, but when I checked the model in modeler the pivots were where they should be. Saved teh model again from modeler to make sure and the problem was still there when reloaded.

    Checking the render outlines in the surface editor renders outlines as expected. Unchecking render outlines does not turn off render outlines. The only way to stop outlines from rendering is to restart lightwave. Copying surefaces from another object will not turn off render outlines. This needs confirmation from other users. I contacted newtek about this and they said they do not have this problem.

  15. #15
    How Old? Really? Aww Heck colkai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    7,806
    Does this problem occur only in 8.2 and not in 8.01 / 8.0 / 7.5 ?
    Too old to die young.

Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •