Thread: shadow over a stadium

Newbie Member

shadow over a stadium

Hello everyone,

I have footage of a football stadium and I want to cast a moving shadow over it and make it look real, so that the shadow creeps over the stands and field and actually looks like it goes up and down the relief portions of the footage.
    Possible in LW?
    I don't have alot of time to pull this off.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks!
    Art

yea theres a way...im not good explaining such things...well, i would set the stadium as the target item for the light, and then put the light at start point in frame 1 and push enter twice to set it there, then roll all the way to the last fram and move it where you want, and push enter twice to set it there, or mebe make more of a circular path to simulate a sun...you were trying to get sun right?..i hope that helps at least some, i may be completely wrong..., im not too good at animation

~best of luck
    "sometimes i think that the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us."

Newbie Member
    Actually, I'm trying to simulate the sun being covered by a huge shadow, like in "Independence Day", moving slowly across the stadium.
    The animation itself will be easy. It's the way it travels across such things as benches and small structures.
    I need to somehow composite a shadow and a shadow receiver and make the shadow receiver invisible to the eye, but not the shadow.

Have you given a quick trial to this:
    Put the stadium footage in a compositor (i.e. After Effects) and put a mask above it. The mask should be dark but not opaque of course. But make the mask so that it has serrated edges. You might have to experiment with the size of the serrations. The serrations give the effect of the shadow crawling across the horizontal surfaces and quickly rising across the vertical surfaces--maybe. Experiment with different speeds to see if this produces the desired effect.