Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Hardware accelerated rendering

  1. #1
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228

    Hardware accelerated rendering

    I'm pretty sure this has been posted here or on the old boards before, but it's so fascinating that I thought I would post it here. We may one day be able to greatly speed our rendering by letting the GPU do the processing.


    http://www.tech-report.com/etc/2002q...s/index.x?pg=1

    http://www.csee.umbc.edu/~olano/s2002c36/ch07.pdf

  2. #2
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,569

    Re: Hardware accelerated rendering

    Originally posted by mattclary
    We may one day be able to greatly speed our rendering by letting the GPU do the processing.
    Maya 5 does it now
    XSI 3.5 does hardware accelerated rendering in some parts of the rendering process as well.
    I guess discreet are working on something as well, and I suppose so are newtek and/or lux.
    Note: "guess" = wild speculation.

    cheers

  3. #3
    yep sounds great if they would make a option for hardware rendering but it must be a option not standard

  4. #4
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    Oh, definitely!

  5. #5
    I like Polygons Rei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    477
    Matt you didn't see it on the old boards, you created a new thread on the new boards:

    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthre...&threadid=4166
    I know where I'm going and I know the truth and I don't have to be what you want me to be
    I'm free to be what I want

  6. #6
    Gentleman Aegis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Fortesque Mansion
    Posts
    1,029
    LightWave used to have hardware accelerated rendering - I think it was in 5.6 - possibly a beta we were testing at the time. I seem to recall it used OpenGL to accelerate rendering but it was very buggy and the renders were quite poor - it was useful for previews but a lot of LightWave's "magic" was broken using hardware rendering...
    "Special power!"

    Andrew G. Morgan ~ CG Gunslinger
    Survivor Films Ltd.
    London, UK
    Click here to email me!

  7. #7
    CORE 5718 mattclary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    5,228
    REI, it was on the old boards first, then this thread, then that thread you linked to. I'm not that senile!

  8. #8
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,569
    Aegis,
    I guess you're refering to RenderGL, which was a proprietary openGL extension by Intergraph. Way ahead of its time I guess.
    Still, hardware rendering makes sense for many reasons, as an alternative.
    Not only for preview rendering (which would be a big step forward in productivity), just look at that old Maya hardware particle/sprite renderer...

    Cheers,
    Mike

  9. #9
    I like Polygons Rei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    477
    Ok Matt I read the other one first, and I wasnt on the old boards...

    LW could do with GPU increased rendering. Even if it is only used as a second number cruncher.
    I know where I'm going and I know the truth and I don't have to be what you want me to be
    I'm free to be what I want

  10. #10
    King of Trentonia trentonia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rocket City
    Posts
    352
    I know how to speed up your rendering today. http://www.respower.com

  11. #11
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,569
    Hi tentonia,
    respower is a good idea, if you have small scenes to render.
    The current job I'm on takes around 36 hours to render completely on our 5 machine farm, results in 4 GB of rendered images, and I had three customer changes requests in the past week. If I add the costs for image transfer via ftp, I'm not sure if respower makes sense.
    There are case where it does though.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  12. #12
    King of Trentonia trentonia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rocket City
    Posts
    352
    Lightwolf,
    You could render that job at ResPower in about an hour, have it next day aired on DVD and still get it back hours before your 5 machines are done with it.
    trentonia

  13. #13
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,569
    Originally posted by trentonia
    You could render that job at ResPower in about an hour, have it next day aired on DVD...
    To Germany?

  14. #14
    King of Trentonia trentonia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rocket City
    Posts
    352
    Kannst du nicht zur Deutschland nachste tag flugen gehaben. Mein Deutsch is nicht so gut jetzt. Ich habe Deutsch fur zehn oder funfzehn jahren nich gesprechen.
    trent

  15. #15
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,569
    Hallo trentonia,
    dann sollten wir üben

    For all non-German speakers:
    Hi trentonia,
    we should practice then.
    I'm not much of a fan of external render farms to be honest. I've never tried one either.
    We have a stable screamer/spider set-up here, which works extremely well, and our machines double as digital fusion renderers, which is great. I'd need to upgrade them sometime though...
    Our render farm tends to be constantly loaded with jobs, but a quick hardware renderer (OT again!) would be great for quick animatics to insert into an edit, or special FX like, again, sprite rendering.

    Tschüss,
    Michael

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •