Thread: Just getting started

Talking Just getting started

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to 3d animation. And currently as a graphic artist I do work on 3d graphics specifically with Photoshop and Illustrator but the business that I work for is going to be doing a TV series and I am being commissioned to do some basic 3d animation similar to Broadcast graphics work. I will be using Adobe After Effects but also I am scouting out good 3d modelling, rendering, and animation programs to use as well.

I do have a limited budget (around $2000) so Maya and 3DS is too much. Plus I'm a beginner and those programs may be too much for me now.

Do any of you have suggestions of where I should start? How is lightwave as far as intuitiveness and ease of use. Also is the modeller good to use? I've worked some on Rhino3d modeller which I loved. Is the Lightwave modeller as good?I was also looking at Electric Image Universe since it's around the same price ($1500). I've heard that IEU animator boasts that it's the fastest and one of the best renderers around. How is Lightwave compared to this?

I probably won't be doing any character animation right now, but mostly TV broadcast graphics and realistic settings like a dark studio or desk or maybe a cityscape and then animate it.

Also is the water rendering realistic? I looked at plugins such as Psunami for IEU and After Effects. I want to be able to render water and fire elements very realistically.

I know I'm scouting, I'm just trying to get the best for my buck.

Thanks for listening to a newbie and if you have any tips or suggestions please let me know!

-Dale

While I don't claim to be an LW person, my bet would be to go with LW.
    It's as close to an industry standard as you can get for Broadcast.

Besides, it's a NewTek product and you can't get user support for your learning curve any better.