Thread: Render Options File Type on OSX limited?

Render Options File Type on OSX limited?

I think I've run into a access rights issue in OSX in a lab setting. Just wondering if anyone has a suggestion for resolving the issue:

I'm new to LW instruction and just started a course....I have four student lab stations (700 mHz eMacs running 10.2.4) and LW 7.5. Ditto on my teaching station (1gHz iMacG4 17" w/ OSX 10.2.4).

In the Admin account on the teaching station, LW will list 8 file type render options (save animation). On the student workstations, all they have is Flexible Float and Flexible Integer. I'd like to save student work to Quicktime files but the option isn't available.

As Admin I have given each LW student OSX accounts, with no access to System prefs and utilities folder (as these stations are in a public space - a school lab of 20 eMacs).

I've tinkered with numerous privilege settings on the LW folder, System Prefs, and utilities folder, plus account privileges and can't find the right combination to produce the Quicktime option.

Maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree. Maybe it hasn't anything to do with access rights in OSX. Yet, if I change their accounts to full Admin status, the problem goes away. So, just wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue and has the right access combination? Any other suggestions? I really need to resolve soon.

Thanks- ca

You aren't barking up the wrong tree. There are two solutions here, one with low maintenance and flexibilty, one with higher maintentance and flexibility. Essentially, the Lightwave preference files are not accessible to the students. The decision you need to make is if they can change preferences for just the application or for the plug-ins as well. I'd suggest just the application preferences, since they don't have access to add or remove plugins anyway. First of all, you need to make sure all the plug-ins and LScripts are added to Layout and Modeler while logged in as an administrator: