Thread: Edge Beveling on MAC?

Newbie Member

Edge Beveling on MAC?

Does anyone know of something similar to Happy Digital's EdgeFX for the Mac? I'm pretty new to Lightwave and I love it, but the only thing I'm seeing a lack of at this point is some way to soften edges quickly. FormZ and Electric Image Universe which I have used previously have really good edge beveling control but I have found none in LW other than when you first create a box with radiused edges. We need something like that for any set of selected surfaces! EdgeFX sounds perfect, but only for Intel! How about VertiBevel? Does that serve the same purpose? It's kind of hard to tell from the samples on their website. Maybe there are some rounding techniques that I'm not aware of...
    Also.. which of the available tree generator plugs do the more experienced users think is best?

Richard Brak has a plugin, RB Rounder which looks like it will do what you and alot of other people have asked for, see his movie at www.richardbrak.net. Its not released yet but looks great. AFAIK Edge FX is a not a geometry based solution.

I'm a fan of Tree Druid by Dynamic-Realities. You get a lot for about $100

http://www.dynamic-realities.com/treedruid/index.html
    "One of the things we really have to impress upon people is that it is never good to be fed on by a blood-sucking insect"
    Dr. Anthony Marfin, CDC

tree druid does edge beveling?

Newbie Member
    Originally posted by noiseboy
    Richard Brak has a plugin, RB Rounder which looks like it will do what you and alot of other people have asked for, see his movie at www.richardbrak.net. Its not released yet but looks great. AFAIK Edge FX is a not a geometry based solution.
    Wow... that's exactly what I was talking about. Can't believe people haven't been screaming for this for a long time.. seems so basic to me. Hope he finishes it soon. Thanks for the tip.

Originally posted by paintboy
    tree druid does edge beveling?