Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Lightwave textured motion - F-prime n Polk.

  1. #1
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632

    Lightwave textured motion - F-prime n Polk.

    Ok, I thought I would post this here to throw a few questions out to experienced users and since we mostly hang out here I posted here.

    First off. I am using "textured motion" to animate a vehicle moving across terrain.

    It mkaes the path beautiully and with a little adjusting perfectly follows the curvature of the ground with only two key frames from me. When I tell the vehicle to set its heading to "Align to path" it does so. So with three key frames where the vehicle turns it turns and heads with the angle the path is set.

    BUT... when I say to "align to path" with the pitch setting it does not pitch for me. Am I stting something wrong.

    1 more question to follow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -----------------
    KC

  2. #2
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632

    ok ontp F-Prime and polk.

    Now I assumed (slapping my own wrist now).....that since Polk and F-prime are both made by worley that they could be used together.

    I want to use F-PRime's Radiosity but I can't see Polk's "acid" effect I made for leaving tracks in the dust.

    HEre is Polks tracks left in the sand. A nice effect.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -----------------
    KC

  3. #3
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632
    OK, so with F-Prime we've all been able to do the great taboo of rendering animations with Radiosity (praise the day) but in this particular situation I can't see the tracks in F-Prime...

    ...but as you can see I much prefer the radiosity lighting.

    ANy thoughts or experience on using these things together is much appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -----------------
    KC

  4. #4
    You may be able to use a program like Photoshop to composite the two images together. currently FPrime does not support shaders from what other posts on the board say.

  5. #5
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    Yep that's a limitation at present because of limitations to the SDK, nothing to do with Worley and his ability to integrate his programs.
    Newtek will be working to open up the SDK to allow the required information to be accesible. Limitations are listed in the short manual for fPrime.
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  6. #6
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632
    Ok, that answers a few questions so any thoughts on the Textured Motion "Pitch" problem?

    ANy suggestions.
    -----------------
    KC

  7. #7
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632
    Tried to use the render trick where you put a 100% transparent polygon in front of the camera.

    I have seen this trick reduce render times alot.

    But even using this trick the render time for this frame was around 15 minutes for a 320x240 no aliasing.

    it is LW native radiosity and looks good but for a HD frame that is 1920x1080 it will take too long. SO I think I am going to try and render the scene in F-Prime and then make all the objects in the scene black (sky as well) and then make the acid "Tracks" render in white.

    Then do pass with no vehicle (transparent) so that I have a color channel for the tracks. Its 3 passes but will probably yeild great results.

    I have done this with hypervoxels before where I render the scene in F-Prime then render the Hypervoxels around a blacked out object with surface key set to 0 this way when the voxels go behind the surface they are keyed out properly for composite.

    Any other thoughts?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -----------------
    KC

  8. #8
    Hey Inuition!
    Resolution is going to up rendertimes, thats true, but you can lower your radiosity- settings if you use AntiAiliasing, since every AA- pass will add additional rays and so help getting rid of noise and splotchiness (in case of interpolated rad).
    You may still have to live with longer rendertimes than with Fprime though...
    BTW, the scene looks pretty cool!
    CU
    Elmar

  9. #9

    Regarding the pitch problem

    I guess the heading works beacause it's actually using your keyed motion, wheras pitch won't work because it's using a plugin.
    The solution would be to bake the motion and get rid of the plugin.

  10. #10
    you can check out an expression I wrote for this very issue (pitch with vehicle using texture motion)

    It's in this scene

    http://www.onthez.com/temphosting/vehicle_setup.zip
    animator for hire...
    onthez.com

  11. #11
    isn't Vertigo the best plug to move a car on desert land?
    http://www.andynicholas.com/thezone/...area=downloads

  12. #12
    great looking little vehicle and set
    Steve McRae
    www.atomworks.com
    www.vertexmonkey.com - resources for Luxology's modo

  13. #13
    Super Member dwburman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    2,880
    Intuition: how are you blacking out your objects? Are you using the Matte object flag?

    The multipath method you're talking about should work great.
    [mr] Dana W. Burman | http://dwburman.com
    Motion Graphics for sale at Pond5 Stock Footage
    Check out my tutorials at Liberty3d.com & my YouTube channel!

  14. #14
    The Real Homestar. Intuition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Venice, CA
    Posts
    2,632

    Wow

    Thanks for the responses guys.

    I am trying all of your suggestions out.

    Vertigo looks like a good bet for my problem but I am trying the pitch "motion texture" as well. I am wondering if that is the same way I am already trying it though?

    As far as keying I set the surface settings to 0,0,0 black and then go to the "advanced" tab in the surface panel and set the alpha channel to "constant" at 0.

    Set like this a surface (tires,truck) can cover up things it is in front of (like the tracks in this instance) and instead of being included in the key as a black shape its cut out of the key completely.

    You really don't have to set the color or settings to black but I do for mental reference. You could just simply use constant value of 0 for the alpha....but since I am trying to set the tracks at white vs black I will want the objects black as well for the alpha layer.
    -----------------
    KC

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •