Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need to convert .max to .lwo. Help!

  1. #1

    Unhappy Need to convert .max to .lwo. Help!

    I need to convert a 3D Studio Max file into a format I can use with Lightwave. I have never before had the occasion or need to use a max file in Lightwave. I have a client who got the max file from the airforce, and I don't know if he can get them to convert it into a usable format like .3ds.

    Can anyone help me out here?

    Thanks
    Cliff
    _____________________________

    "Some kind of high-powered mutant never intended for mass production. Too weird to live. Too rare to die."

  2. #2
    Stuper Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    1,043
    .max isn't a public format, you have to have Max to convert it. Even with conversion utilities like Deep Exploration you will need to have Max installed to convert it.

  3. #3
    Well, Max is a closed file format, so you are going to have to ask your client to save the Max scene out as a 3ds file, which is easy to do from the Export menu option in Max. Modeler will open a 3ds file with no problems, and its just a matter or re-assigning any texture maps to the right surfaces. UVs are converted too!


    Simon

  4. #4
    Huge Member mkiii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    West Sussex UK
    Posts
    1,102
    You are probably going to be out of luck then, unless you want to spend out for a copy of Max, since conversion apps like Deep Exploration still require an installed Max license to do the conversion.

    Unless of course, you can find a kind soul with a copy of Max - And a copy of LW to convert it for you.

    So drop me a line & I'll see what I can do for you.

  5. #5
    Registered User Deadlyforce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris, Caen, France
    Posts
    101

    Lightbulb Maybe...

    You should try the free Kaydara fbx plugins.

    http://www.kaydara.com

  6. #6
    Huge Member mkiii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    West Sussex UK
    Posts
    1,102
    Well, I offered to do it.

  7. #7
    W.Bush avatar deleted
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    243
    the kaydara plug-in (free) is the best way to go

    it keeps the surface names intact / the uv / the xyz etc...

    so the client should install the fbx plug-in on max and tou on lightwave...

  8. #8
    Newbie Member kuik2c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    60

    Lightbulb I love this forum!!!

    I also face the same problem to convert 3dmax file and normaly I used 3d studio VIZ to convert it into 3ds format b4 import into lightwave.

    Thanks Deadlyforce & tektonik
    Regards,
    Kuik2c

  9. #9
    Thanks everyone, that's about what I thought I would have to do. I have not heard back from the client yet.

    Mkiii, sorry, I didn't realize I was still logged onto the board, and I did not see your message. If you could help me out I would appreciate it enormously. I'll drop you a message.

    Thanks
    _____________________________

    "Some kind of high-powered mutant never intended for mass production. Too weird to live. Too rare to die."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •