Thread: Newbie question on timing.

Newbie question on timing.

Ok, I'm a student and have a "beginner" type question. Not quite "getting it" from the instructors explanation.

I'm doing a project where a ball comes through the air and "ricochets" off a solid box, then bounces a few times until it rolls to a stop.

I have a camera moving from the first keyframe to the end keyframe following slightly ahead of the ball and following the motion of the bouncing ball.

My problem: At the very end of the motion of the ball and camera...the ball temporarily "overtakes" the camera in speed, thus going out of the view of the camera...and then in the last few keyframes...the camera comes back in front of the ball.

I spent several hours messing with "tension and continuity and bias" as my instructor suggested...but this hasn't helped me at all to resolve the timing issue.

I want the camera to travel along just slightly in front of and to a slight angle to the ball, and keep the distance between them fairly static until the end of the animation in which the ball comes to rest with a close-up still shot from the camera.

Again, the ball, for whatever reason eventually gains speed and overtakes the camera position.

I have also fooled around with the graph editor...and honestly...I think this is the most confusing thing I've ever encountered....I select the "camera" and then try adjusting the "X and/or Z" channels, and try adjusting the vertices for these to see if I can get the camera to stay in front of the moving ball...to no avail.

Please help. I'd be happy to send what I have to anyone that may want a closer look at what I'm doing.

Thanks for all your help and wealth of knowledge.

Sultan
    Sultan