Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Fprime Future

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    53

    Fprime Future

    I would like to present some possible future applications of Worley's truly groundbreaking software.
    First and foremost this is a rendering engine. So programs like Max, Maya, C4D and Softimage could possibly have this programmed for them. Which in turn would increase profits for Mr. Worley, which he would then be able to R&D even more cool plugins.
    Second. Can anyone imagine this technology on a chip inside your computer? A gaming machine? The applications for this are mind boggling.
    Any other thoughts?


    Cheers,


    Vincent D. Brumback

  2. #2
    all i know is that i want a copy bad...

  3. #3
    Beyond Reality WizCraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Clovis New Mexico
    Posts
    1,410
    Originally posted by jat1
    all i know is that i want a copy bad...
    Don't you mean you want to buy it? As Copy sounds....
    ImageReality.com

    "Relax...it's just an update for the patch to fix the nerf that nerfed the fix for the update of the patch that broke the fix that was fixed."

    Late 2013 MacPro 12 Core

  4. #4
    well if he said he wanted a 'seat' bad would we think he was tired from standing up all day long?

    I snapped out at someone the other day on a similar note - not everyone who uses the word 'copy' means illegal copy...

    replenishing my digital karma

  5. #5
    Originally posted by WizCraker
    Don't you mean you want to buy it? As Copy sounds....
    LOL, never thought about it like that, well yes, I mean buy, especailly at the moment since im rendering a scene that crashes on me cause i got over 40 lights, too many windows and for some reason the array calculations screw up and crash lightwave at a certain frame, never had this problem before.

  6. #6
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    53
    That was quick.


    Cheers,


    Vincent D. Brumback

  7. #7
    F_prime is not a rendering engine. It's a plug-in, a preview renderer. If it were a rendering engine it would be able to load in a lightwave scene separatly(as a stand alone) from the two lightwave apps and render it itself. Just like any normal rendering engine.

    It needs Lightwave to run, it uses Lighwaves own rendering engine. Although, it does use Lightwaves rendering engine in a very different way than VIPER or Ligthtwave itself uses the engine. It is limited to what Lightwave can do. Same thing with G2, a preview renderer.

    If you think otherwise show me where on this page it says render engine... These two plugins work hand in hand with Lightwave engine to create some awsome looking images fast.

    http://www.worley.com/G2/g2_main.html#startit

    Here's a quick quote for G2.
    "The heart of G2 is the realtime, render quality, and totally customizable preview system it adds to LightWave."
    So, preview system, not render engine Just incase some one wants to argue.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    K, now that that's out of the way. What's the difference between G2 and F_prime? Besides maybe SSS and some panels specifically for G2.

    Eric

  8. #8
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    53
    I understand that this is a plugin for LightWave. It is also possible that this is some fantastical-geewhiz-super cool-wow-new technology and technology can be adapted for different purposes. What's stopping Mr. Worley from writing his own fantastical-geewhiz-super cool-wow-new rendering engine with some Fprime tech thrown in for good measure, market it has a new 3d api, people love it, developers license it and create hardware for it. POOF! Bye bye OpenGL and DirectX. Anyways, that is how I see it. Forgive me for trying to see possibilties.

    No one, expect for the developers, knows exactly how and why Fprime works. Quote from Worley site "Since there's nothing like this tool in LightWave 8, and we're confident the FPrime renderer is something every LightWave user (both 7 and 8) will demand, our pricing is designed to make the decision easy." Notice FPrime renderer. And another "The FPrime Renderer does not use any pre-render pass or baking, so you can use the interactive render even when loading a new object or starting a scene from scratch" Again refered to as Fprime Renderer.

    Cheers.

    Vincent D. Brumback

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    543
    I would still like to know if it will render higher than screen res images and if it will do global illumination (Radiosity) Since Worley says he is releasing FPrime next week I guess i will find out then. Screen res speed ups will not help my 8000x6000 Architectural renders although it wiil help with low res previews.
    From the land of 9 months of winter and 3 months of poor sledding

  10. #10
    Originally posted by New2Lw
    F_prime is not a rendering engine. It's a plug-in, a preview renderer. If it were a rendering engine it would be able to load in a lightwave scene separatly(as a stand alone) from the two lightwave apps and render it itself. Just like any normal rendering engine.

    It needs Lightwave to run, it uses Lighwaves own rendering engine. Although, it does use Lightwaves rendering engine in a very different way than VIPER or Ligthtwave itself uses the engine. It is limited to what Lightwave can do. Same thing with G2, a preview renderer.

    If you think otherwise show me where on this page it says render engine... These two plugins work hand in hand with Lightwave engine to create some awsome looking images fast.
    negative ghost buster... it is an engine...
    -- -- -- from worley.com -- -- --
    One of the most common questions we get is about image quality. Does FPrime use object approximations, lower quality shading, or precision shortcuts to render so quickly?

    The happy answer is no. FPrime's engine traces the same geometry, follows the same reflection and transparency ray recursion, and computes and stores the same floating point point color precision as LightWave does.
    -- -- -- end worley quote -- -- --

    It has its own engine...
    Next! 8 )

  11. #11
    Originally posted by New2Lw

    Just incase some one wants to argue.
    Why would anyone want to argue? You're just in the same boat as everyone else.. you are thinking your opinion is equivalent to fact. It isn't anymore than anyone elses opinion.. When Worly releases it we'll all know.. as it stands you don't know anymore than anyone else who isn't worley.

  12. #12
    Originally posted by robk
    I would still like to know if it will render higher than screen res images and if it will do global illumination (Radiosity) Since Worley says he is releasing FPrime next week I guess i will find out then. Screen res speed ups will not help my 8000x6000 Architectural renders although it wiil help with low res previews.
    Four things will happen next week.

    1) Worly will release FPrime.
    2) Newtek will release LW 8.
    3) Jesus will return to earth, where he will promptly be shot down in the street by shotgun wielding rednecks who will say, "Pshaw, that there preacherman said the devil would come back first and like, trick us and stuff."
    4) The devil will rejoice and pat himself on the back for having read the same chapters in that there bible.

  13. #13
    Originally posted by MorituriMax
    Four things will happen next week.

    1) Worly will release FPrime.
    2) Newtek will release LW 8.
    3) Jesus will return to earth, where he will promptly be shot down in the street by shotgun wielding rednecks who will say, "Pshaw, that there preacherman said the devil would come back first and like, trick us and stuff."
    4) The devil will rejoice and pat himself on the back for having read the same chapters in that there bible.

    HAhAHaHahAhahAhahaHAHahaHAHAhaHAH!!

  14. #14
    Addicted since vers. 5.5 JDaniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay - Orlando
    Posts
    296
    That's funny!

    When you render out an animation, FPrime won't render all the frames, LW will. I think we need to know it's limitations. I'm sure there are some.
    In a few years newbies will say, "You had to wait for the render!?"
    Go Worley!
    distortion free uv's for Subd. models-
    www.jackydaniel.com/pages/Tutorial.htm

  15. #15
    I AM THE Action_Bob
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aurora, Colorado
    Posts
    398

    Waiting for renders...

    I rememember when I first started using Lightave (version 3.5 - 5.0 on the Amiga). I was amazed how how much faster it was that Imagine. After many upgrades I was amazed at how fast it could render stuff when I got a fast pc and the intel version. I remember rendering out a logo animation for a private game project that took 3 days (day and night on Amiga)!!!! The same animation was completed in few minutes on my 2 ghz Dell.


    Darn Noobies are spoiled... I think they should have a noobie version where you have to wait. After a couple of years of use, you get an email with an unlock code to let you render "near real-time." That way they can really appreciate the technology.


    -Adrian

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •