Thread: read only members

read only members

Hi,
    I'm new to lscripting, and I've a problem, as you might guess

My problem is simple, how can I change the name of a mesh, as layout says me it is a readonly member of mesh structure.

I get my mesh from a scene, with something like this :

scene = Scene();
    obj = scene.getSelect(MESH);
    mesh = Mesh(obj[1].name);

mesh.name = string("new_name");

this last line fails ...

If someone has an idea, thanks a lot

Hehe, well doesn't read-only imply that it's not meant to be modified, or even impossible to modify?

If you can't do it in Layout (and you can't change object names in Layout) chances are small you can do it with Scripts...

"If you can't do it in Layout..."

That suggests an idea - try doing it in Modeler.

hey we actually CAN change name of null objects in layout, so maybe there's a way we can do it by lscripts ...

Anyway, is there a way to add options on the lws file ?
    I explain :

Plugin DisplacementHandler 1 LW_LScript
    Script D:\CODE\LIGHTWAVE\PARTICLE.LS
    EndPlugin

It is my lscript on the lws file.
    How can I add options to that ? I mean, I tried the fx_wind lscript, it appears like that :

Plugin CustomObjHandler 1 FX_Wind
    format 1
    windflag 0 1 1 0 0 0
    w0 0 1 0 0
    ts 1 1 1 0 0.5
    tv 1 0 0
    EndPlugin

Hm, you have a point there, you can rename nulls
    If you can do it with LScript it's most likely an own function (method? whatever it's called), it's not really common that you can overwrite data provided by LW directly.

Maybe join the LScript mailing list, Bob knows for sure...
    with the SDK you can just use Layouts rename command, but i couldn't find something like that in the LScript doku, however LScript is developing all the time...just had a major update with 7.5b i think.