Thread: Alternative program recommendations for currently limited needs

Newbie Member

Question Alternative program recommendations for currently limited needs

Hello, I am a stop-motion animator new to CGI and am considering purchasing Lightwave in the future for my small animation studio. I worked very briefly (2 weeks) with Lightwave in school many years ago and was able to get very good results for what I needed. I have since purchased AC3D and done very well at it, but have outgrown its modelliing limitations. It lacks the spline-curve, squash, stretch and other calculus-generated functions that lightwave has. I have downloaded the Lightwave 3D 7 Demo, hoping to build a handful of projects and get a feel for your product before investing the money. The program seems a bit too far ahead of where I need the computer in my work right now, with a stupefyingly comprehensive range of features more suited to a much more advanced user of digital animation media, not for a beginner who is simply trying to build objects and interiors in 3d space for the first time. My work with the computer for now really only requires that I build simplified sets and objects inside the computer for pre-production work on 3d stop motion storyboards in real perspective, enabling me to get a more accurate look and feel for scenes than I have previously achieved with freehand drawings which consequently tended to suffer from imperfect perspective when depicting interesting or extreme angles or views, not to mention being much more laborious and time consuming than simply modelling an architectural structure inside the computer only once and then moving my POV around or inside the model at will, freeing me to experiment and concentrate on more artistic considerations than making all my drawings correlate to the same space. I still intend most of my work to be built and rendered using tradional methods, but this is made prohibitively expensive and prone to errors merely working from drawings