Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: 500x500 ?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    north carolina USA
    Posts
    245

    Lightbulb 500x500 ?

    OK is it just me....love the new boards , major improvement.....but
    who set the 500x 500 limit in of all places, the posting gallery?
    imean i understand the need to limit file sizes, but this is just too durn small to see any detail guys.
    how about 1024x 1024 maybe.....just a thought

  2. #2
    Lightwave Pimp Skonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,450
    I agree.
    uh wha?

  3. #3
    yep, 500x500 really is a wee bit small, especially for a gallery board.
    ...and remember; mesh is only one letter away from mess...

    [url=http://www.simplyLightWave.com]SimplyLightWave[/url]

    [url=http://www.liquid-arts.de]liquid.arts[/url]


  4. #4
    Newbie Member Alec Trevelyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Providence, RI, and West Hartford, CT, USA
    Posts
    88
    they haven't figured out how to allow images to expand individual posts without stretching the NewTek banner at the top of each page
    [size=1]"In the future I see, you're stalking elk through the damp canyon forest, around the ruins of Rockafellar Center. You'll wear leather clothes that will last you the rest of your life. You'll c

  5. #5

    Idea

    You might get a hold of this guy: Rodzilla, over at the Serious Sam forums: http://forums.seriouscommunity.com/

    He runs the show over there, and I'm pretty sure they use vBulletin and their forum will stretch to whatever size your browser is.
    | [color=green][URL=http://www.littadpole.com]Light My Tadpole[/URL][/color] |

  6. #6
    Newbie Member Alec Trevelyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Providence, RI, and West Hartford, CT, USA
    Posts
    88
    you could also contact the admins at www.scifi-meshes.com/forums or www.lwg3d.org/forums/
    [size=1]"In the future I see, you're stalking elk through the damp canyon forest, around the ruins of Rockafellar Center. You'll wear leather clothes that will last you the rest of your life. You'll c

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    north carolina USA
    Posts
    245
    Ok, makes sense.....kinda...i still dont understand
    though(idiot) because when i click on an attached image post
    it pops a new window open just for the image anyway same size as the browser window , which in my case which is rather large22"flatpanel(and the newtek banner isnt on that page) so i get a teeny weenie picture and acres of white?

  8. #8
    Newbie Member Alec Trevelyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Providence, RI, and West Hartford, CT, USA
    Posts
    88
    that's because the pic in the new window has nothing to do with the forums, so it doesn't have the newtek banner on it
    [size=1]"In the future I see, you're stalking elk through the damp canyon forest, around the ruins of Rockafellar Center. You'll wear leather clothes that will last you the rest of your life. You'll c

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    north carolina USA
    Posts
    245
    so why does the size matter, sorry just trying to understand?

  10. #10
    I'd like to add my vote for a change in the image size limit.

    paintboy: it's possible to include inline images in vbulletin messages, so that they appear with your text (much better than having to click a link). The size limit applies to these inline images.

    Regards,
    Terry

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    north carolina USA
    Posts
    245
    Terry, i suppose i am going to come off as a dolt,
    but i still do not understand the difference between inline image
    and the attach function...
    when i clik the img button, my browser request an http link
    (i had assumed, one must publish to server space somewhere)
    so i had attached the files(are these still considered inline?) , which are still limited to 500x500,
    if you try any larger you get bumped out?
    sorry, not very web savy,maybe i'll catch on someday...
    then again maybe not

  12. #12
    Hmm, I'm no expert, I'm just going from my experience of the CGtalk board. Big attachment (larger than 500x500) baulks.

    Testing...

    Inline?

  13. #13
    Akk! Image not showing up in the message.

    Obviously the board is configured differently to the CGtalk setup. Early days I suppose, but it would be nice to see a fix to show the images in the messages.

    Test 2; big IMG (remote hosted)


    Works ok. I suppose the 500x500 limit is because attachments are hosted locally (on the newtek site) but IMGs can be any size because they're hosted elsewhere (usually on the posters ISP web space).

    Regards,
    Terry
    Last edited by TerryFord; 02-10-2003 at 02:46 PM.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    north carolina USA
    Posts
    245
    thanks terry.
    i guess if i want anybody to see anything of any size
    i better crank up golive and park it on my space.
    seems a bit round the way,(although i always thought most folks on the old board were generally pretty concious about file sizes) but if thats the way it is...thats the way it is!
    like you said , its early yet, perhaps things will adjust.

  15. #15
    Yes 500 is definately too small, I tried to post a screenshot of a lightwave menu and couldn't becuase it exceeded the limit. Some people have been linking to external image files but this creates archival problems. Also I don't like the anti leeching PHP script which is designed to stop people from downloading images.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •