Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Layout does not start after Win10 1903 update

  1. #1
    Super Member vncnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,560

    Layout does not start after Win10 1903 update

    Layout 2019.3 does not start when I use the icon on my desktop (either with or without hub).
    It created a crash file (and sent it with a bug report).

    However I am able to start Modeler 2019.3 (with hub) and Switch to Layout from there.

    The problems started after I turned on the "Manipulation protection" in Windows security, but I am not able to revert the situation.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    64
    If you mean "controlled folder access" to protect against ransomware, you need to allow access to apps you trust like Lightwave. More info here: https://www.windowscentral.com/how-e...reators-update

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    64

  4. #4
    I also had some weird issues after doing the Windows 10 1903 update as described in that thread linked above. Never had an issue until now in 20 years of running Lightwave on Windows.


    I reverted back to 1809 for now and will try and sort it out when I'm forced to update to 1903 again.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

  5. #5
    Registered User calilifestyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    cali, Santa Clarita
    Posts
    1,560
    Blog Entries
    4
    Kind of glad i haven't hit the download and install. i normally install upgrades/updates right away.
    Ell no 'ta enamora' de mi, yo tampoco

  6. #6
    Super Member vncnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,560
    Customer Support responded quickly:
    Do a full uninstall of LightWave, and a re-install. Remove everything including license.
    See if that works.


    I removed Lightwave 2015.3 and 2019.0.3, including all config files, updated my nvidia GTX690 drivers (v430.86), and reinstalled both LW2015 and LW2019.

    For now everything seems fixed on Win10 1903.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by vncnt View Post
    Customer Support responded quickly:
    Do a full uninstall of LightWave, and a re-install. Remove everything including license.
    See if that works.


    I removed Lightwave 2015.3 and 2019.0.3, including all config files, updated my nvidia GTX690 drivers (v430.86), and reinstalled both LW2015 and LW2019.

    For now everything seems fixed on Win10 1903.
    I will have to try that when it comes time and hopefully that will correct the issues I was having with the Hub.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

  8. #8
    Registered User calilifestyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    cali, Santa Clarita
    Posts
    1,560
    Blog Entries
    4

    Testing

    I went ahead installed 1903 in one of my systems that is not the main. To test out 1903. Lightwave will launch but neither layout or modeler windows seem to draw or display. I even restored back to 1803 but no longer works. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Paint.png 
Views:	37 
Size:	16.8 KB 
ID:	145234
    Ell no 'ta enamora' de mi, yo tampoco

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,756
    great

  10. #10
    Super Member tburbage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    371
    I'm on Windows 10 Pro 1903 and am not having any issues with Layout or Modeler. Maybe it depends on your security software? I use Bitdefender...

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by calilifestyle View Post
    I went ahead installed 1903 in one of my systems that is not the main. To test out 1903. Lightwave will launch but neither layout or modeler windows seem to draw or display. I even restored back to 1803 but no longer works. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Paint.png 
Views:	37 
Size:	16.8 KB 
ID:	145234
    Looks like it's running in discovery mode as well. Windows update is already bugging me to update to 1903 again. I hope to hold it off for a while since I'm in the middle of a project and don't want to be stuck with a crippled Lightwave.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

  12. #12
    Registered User calilifestyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    cali, Santa Clarita
    Posts
    1,560
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by tburbage View Post
    I'm on Windows 10 Pro 1903 and am not having any issues with Layout or Modeler. Maybe it depends on your security software? I use Bitdefender...
    Nope nothing Security, I'm going to try soothing as soon as i have time.
    Ell no 'ta enamora' de mi, yo tampoco

  13. #13
    Super Member vncnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,560
    Quote Originally Posted by calilifestyle View Post
    I went ahead installed 1903 in one of my systems that is not the main. To test out 1903. Lightwave will launch but neither layout or modeler windows seem to draw or display. I even restored back to 1803 but no longer works. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Paint.png 
Views:	37 
Size:	16.8 KB 
ID:	145234
    Did you do a full uninstall of LightWave, and removed everything including license before reinstalling?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas Jordan View Post
    I will have to try that when it comes time and hopefully that will correct the issues I was having with the Hub.
    Modeler disappeared 5x on the first day I reinstalled everything.
    Had to disable it again.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by vncnt View Post
    Did you do a full uninstall of LightWave, and removed everything including license before reinstalling?

    - - - Updated - - -


    Modeler disappeared 5x on the first day I reinstalled everything.
    Had to disable it again.
    Using Lightwave without the Hub is so tedious and slow for me especially on large Arch Viz projects. It will be interesting to see how many more people will have this issue as they update to 1903.
    Last edited by Nicolas Jordan; 06-18-2019 at 11:55 AM.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

  15. #15
    Super Member vncnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,560
    I can't even remember when the hub problem appeared for the first time.
    To me it does not seem to be specifically related with 2019.x or Windows10 updates.

    Problem for debug is that it just disappears without a trace.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •