Thread: Motion Mixer and .mdd files

Motion Mixer and .mdd files

Hi everyone,

I am new to Lightwave and use it to make several animation sets. It is working fine so far. However I was trying to find out if I can 'blend' them, so that there is a smooth transition. The purpose is that the animation (with the character) are going to be used in a video game. The character is going to walk, run and jump. For making sure that the animations are not interrupted in an unsmooth way, I want to blend them. So I thought the motion mixer would be a great way to do it. The problem that I have now is that I want to make these three different animation sets and I want them to be single accessible. With the motion mixer I can only seem to 'bake' them directly, after finishing them. They are in the motion mixer then and I don't seem to have the possibility to use them outside of the motion mixer or to change them up, etc.
    I also tried baking them in a .mdd file, which works fine (I know that I can't change up anything afterward, as well. Even though I have every single set in a seperate file then), but if I try to load those files into the motion mixer, nothing happens. The motion mixer doesn't seem to get the animation set and gives me an empty part. I guess that is, because there are no keyframes anymore, if I use the baked files.

Btw. I am using a skelegon rig that I made in Layout and weighted in Modeler.

So, I am wondering if there is a possibility to achieve what I want or if I just didn't see something obvious/didn't try out everything.
    I hope it was understandable so far.
    Thanks for helping out!

gc_ruby

Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Right... MDDs you cant use with motion mixer, nor later in a game (and if you could, you wouldnt want to), as this is baked to the mesh.