Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: IsoCorder file no good

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    499

    IsoCorder file no good

    I've attempted to record a NDI stream using IsoCorder (latest version, just downloaded). I can see the stream just fine in both IsoCorder and also Studio Monitor.

    However, the MOV file it's generating isn't viewable in ANYTHING except the old, unsupported QuickTime player. When loading that file into Premiere CC (v13.x) it says the video streams can't be decoded but it does get the audio side. Won't display in VLC either.

    Is this a bug in IsoCorder?

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks!

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications
    Last edited by fgolman; 04-29-2019 at 11:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,571
    Hi Fritz,

    Should be an XDCAM codec, make sure those are installed

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    499
    Quote Originally Posted by JPulera View Post
    Hi Fritz,

    Should be an XDCAM codec, make sure those are installed

    Thanks

    Jeff


    Jeff,

    I'm using Premiere Pro on a Windows machine. Have used XDCAM before, many times. And, Adobe is supposed to have native support for MOV files, which is the container.

    What am I missing here?

    I'm not even sure how that codec would be gotten/loaded.

    Fritz

  4. #4
    Use MediaInfo to check what the Codec ID of the file is. It should be XDCAM (xd5*) unless this is a very old version of IsoCorder, then it might be SpeedHQ.
    https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo

    If you have a SpeedHQ codec file (SHQ#), you can use the TriCaster export tool to convert it into ProRes or this tool that can convert it into something Premiere can read.
    http://dl.strm.one/ffmpeg-gui/
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    499
    Kane,

    I think that there's something the matter with the current version of IsoCorder (just downloaded).

    It appears that it is NOT recording as an XDCAM codec but some flavor of MP4.

    Here's what MediaInfo spat out from the file I just recorded:


    General
    Complete name : C:\Users\1123781\Videos\REC 1.mov
    Format : MPEG-4
    Format profile : QuickTime
    Codec ID : qt 0000.02 (qt )
    File size : 22.2 MiB
    Duration : 16 s 379 ms
    Overall bit rate mode : Variable
    Overall bit rate : 11.4 Mb/s
    Encoded date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40
    Tagged date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40
    Writing library : Apple QuickTime

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : MPEG Video
    Format version : Version 2
    Format profile : [email protected]
    Format settings, BVOP : No
    Format settings, Matrix : Default
    Format settings, GOP : N=1
    Codec ID : m2v1
    Duration : 16 s 379 ms
    Source duration : 16 s 383 ms
    Bit rate mode : Variable
    Bit rate : 8 148 kb/s
    Maximum bit rate : 25.0 Mb/s
    Width : 480 pixels
    Height : 360 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 4:3
    Frame rate mode : Constant
    Frame rate : 29.970 (30000/1001) FPS
    Standard : NTSC
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:2
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 1.573
    Time code of first frame : 12:47:23;29
    Time code source : Group of pictures header
    GOP, Open/Closed : Closed
    Stream size : 15.9 MiB (72%)
    Source stream size : 15.9 MiB (72%)
    Language : English
    Encoded date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40
    Tagged date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40

    Audio
    ID : 2
    Format : PCM
    Format settings : Little / Signed
    Codec ID : in24
    Duration : 16 s 368 ms
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 2 304 kb/s
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Channel layout : L R
    Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
    Bit depth : 24 bits
    Stream size : 4.50 MiB (20%)
    Language : English
    Encoded date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40
    Tagged date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40

    Other
    ID : 3
    Type : Time code
    Format : QuickTime TC
    Duration : 16 s 379 ms
    Time code of first frame : 12:46:53:06
    Time code, striped : Yes
    Language : English
    Encoded date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40
    Tagged date : UTC 2019-05-01 17:47:40

    I think that there's a bug in IsoCorder if it's supposed to be XDCAM. I would assume that the issue is that QuickTime container with an MP4 codec is somehow not recognized by anything in Windows?

    Note, in this case I was picking up an SD stream from YouTube (via VLC NDI integration). However, results were the same in other standard HD formats (EG, 720p, 1080i).

    Please advise.

    Thanks!

    Fritz Golman
    Last edited by fgolman; 05-01-2019 at 12:01 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    london
    Posts
    223
    Quote Originally Posted by fgolman View Post
    Kane,
    I think that there's something the matter with the current version of IsoCorder (just downloaded).
    It appears that it is NOT recording as an XDCAM codec but some flavor of MP4.
    Here's what MediaInfo spat out from the file I just recorded:
    General
    Complete name : C:\Users\1123781\Videos\REC 1.mov
    Format : MPEG-4
    Format profile : QuickTime
    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : MPEG Video
    Format version : Version 2
    Codec ID : m2v1
    I think that there's a bug in IsoCorder if it's supposed to be XDCAM. I would assume that the issue is that QuickTime container with an MP4 codec is somehow not recognized by anything in Windows?
    Note, in this case I was picking up an SD stream from YouTube (via VLC NDI integration). However, results were the same in other standard HD formats (EG, 720p, 1080i).
    Please advise.
    Thanks!
    Fritz Golman
    That shows MPEG2 codec video in a Quicktime Movie container, which is basically XDCam HD (in MOV). If its not HD then its potentially MPEG2 SD - which is pretty much XDCam or some other basic variant of MPEG2.

    The MPEG-4 'format' is just a semantic - in fact the MPEG4 container standard is derived from QuickTime, and so its basically 99% the same DNA. Its not showing an MPEG4 *codec* but m2v1 which means MPEG2. Not entirely familiar with MediaInfo's output but if "GOP : N=1" means iFrame then its probably traditional SD XDCam CBR

    It's true that you might expect Premiere to read this natively, so perhaps something is up, but its nothing to do with MPEG4 *codec* per-se , although the pixel size is non-broadcast - so that could be a clue since its a deviation from 'straight' XDCam SD.
    Last edited by livepad; 05-01-2019 at 01:26 PM.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    499
    So, what's the bottom line on this?

    I'm trying to edit in Adobe Premiere CC in Windows and it won't recognize the file properly that comes from IsoCorder.

    I'm trying to avoid the time to cross covert in some tool.

    Is there a plug in missing in Premiere?

    Fritz
    Last edited by fgolman; 05-01-2019 at 01:27 PM.

  8. #8
    Look at the resolution, it is 480x360, its not even SD resolution. The compression is MPEG-2 (m2v1) however, Adobe Premiere will not decode files tagged as m2v1 (see attachment). I do not know how you even got a file at this resolution to start with.

    NewTek Recording Formats.pdf
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    499
    Gotcha. This was a live recording from YouTube via VLC/IsoCorder. However, it's IsoCorder generating the m2v1 file.

    I think I have a better way of attempting to do this rather than streaming VLC and recording separately … record directly within VLC.

    Fritz

  10. #10
    That explains it, I though it was coming from TriCaster, but if the YouTube clip was only 360p, then that is what IsoCorder will record.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •