Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 63

Thread: A Couple of Basic Lightwave Questions Please

  1. #46
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Shabazzy View Post
    Wow.

    If I didn't see it, I wouldn't have believed it.

    You've shown me something that I didn't think was possible.

    Sir, you have my thanks.
    It must be new and something changed in 2019 eps importer, tried it in 2015.3 and it doesnīt work.
    Then I just recently saw this vid..and then I tried 2019.0.3
    It didnīt work the first time I tried, in fact it would only crash, but I wasnīt doing exactly what xswampy did..I namely forgot to use a layer in inkscape, and had previously been drawing without any layer.

    Once I made a layer first and traced a bitmap logo, saved out as eps...it now works in 2019, but not in 2015 it seems.
    Thanks for the showcase Xswampy.
    So the fact that I just recently upgraded to 2019...explains why I thought eps was out of the question with inkscape.

    With this ..I really do not see any huge need for illustrator, if it werenīt for the lack of filleting rounding of paths in inkscape.

  2. #47
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,438
    I do get a lot of crashes though with importing eps to lightwave with inkscape..even if i make layers first.

  3. #48
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    58
    Thanks again for your help.
    Last edited by stevedross; 04-15-2019 at 09:12 AM.

  4. #49
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    58
    How do you change the grid size in Modeler 2018?

    Thanks

  5. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    58
    How do you change the grid size in Modeler 2018?

    Thanks

  6. #51
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, England, UK
    Posts
    992
    Blog Entries
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    How do you change the grid size in Modeler 2018?

    Thanks
    You just zoom in and zoom out with the magnifying glass in the top right corner of each viewport or press the comma or fullstop keys to zoom in and out. If you look at the grid size indicator in bottom left of the Modeler window you'll see the grid size change.

  7. #52
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,735
    I use the comma and period (fullstop) keys as Shabazzy mentions, but I mostly hold ALT and CTRL and mouse drag right to zoom in and drag left to zoom out, positioning the cursor where I want to zoom to. The Display Options (d) Units tab allows you do determine how often the grid size changes as you zoom:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	01_GridUnitChanges.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	86.6 KB 
ID:	144756

    So, with the setting shown of 1 2 5, as you zoom in the grid size will change from (for example) 50cm to 20cm to 10cm and then 5cm, 2cm and 1cm, etc. and zooming out goes up in these same intervals.

    RE: the ALT-CTRL-drag to zoom, I also use the ALT-SHIFT-drag to slide the viewports, and ALT-drag to rotate the Perspective view.

    mTp
    Last edited by MonroePoteet; 04-15-2019 at 06:55 PM. Reason: Comma, not "command"

  8. #53
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    58
    This is the last question for (today).
    Back in the old days, I would just render everything out as an animation.
    What's the process for doing that in 2018?

    Thanks as always.

  9. #54
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    716
    The process is the same as always. Render as image files (not video animation) and then compile into video.

    Recent discussion:
    https://forums.newtek.com/showthread...r-has-no-image
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  10. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    58
    No way to render it out as an animation anymore?

  11. #56
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    716
    There is always a way to render out as an animation video file. And there is the same reason not to render to a video file.

    What happens when you've been rendering for 12 hours and then there's a fault that destroys the video file?

    That's why rendering to still images (JPG/PNG/TGA/EXR/etc) is the sensible way to render animation. Then smack those images into a video file.

    DOCS: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/lw2019/...with-rendering
    Last edited by raymondtrace; 04-17-2019 at 01:31 PM.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  12. #57
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    No way to render it out as an animation anymore?
    It just isn't safe. Still possible in 2018 -19.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  13. #58
    Registered User MarkAH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Green Valley, AZ
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    Back in the old days, I would just render everything out as an animation.
    Back in the old days, I would just load my film cassettes into the Scopitone.

  14. #59
    Super Member tburbage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    I tried saving a four letter text as an EPS in Photoshop and Lightwave tells me "unknown file format" and "Not recognized by this file converter".

    Is there a proper way of saving it out of Photoshop other than just esp so it will convert?
    After converting the text in Photoshop to outlines, use File > Export > Paths To Illustrator, specifying the name of the path. You can save to either .eps or .ai extensions. EPS Loader in Modeler can load that just fine (it doesn't care about the extension). I get good results specifying Spline Curves or Closed Polygons. Auto-AxisDrill worked for me in cutting out the "holes" in some letters.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    I tried saving a four letter text as an EPS in Photoshop and Lightwave tells me "unknown file format" and "Not recognized by this file converter".

    Is there a proper way of saving it out of Photoshop other than just esp so it will convert?
    After converting the text in Photoshop to outlines, use File > Export > Paths To Illustrator, specifying the name of the path. You can save to either .eps or .ai extensions. EPS Loader in Modeler can load that just fine (it doesn't care about the extension). I get good results specifying Spline Curves or Closed Polygons. Auto-AxisDrill worked for me in cutting out the "holes" in some letters when working with Closed Polygons.

  15. #60
    Super Member tburbage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedross View Post
    I tried saving a four letter text as an EPS in Photoshop and Lightwave tells me "unknown file format" and "Not recognized by this file converter".

    Is there a proper way of saving it out of Photoshop other than just esp so it will convert?
    After converting the text in Photoshop to outlines, use File > Export > Paths To Illustrator, specifying the name of the path. You can save to either .eps or .ai extensions. EPS Loader in Modeler can load that just fine (it doesn't care about the extension). I get good results specifying Spline Curves or Closed Polygons. Auto-AxisDrill worked for me in cutting out the "holes" in some letters when working with Closed Polygons.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •